North Greenville (7-0) tops NCBWA Division II Poll

PEMBROKE, N.C. (NCBWA) –  A quick 7-0 start to its national title defense tour helped North Greenville strengthen its hold atop the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Top 25 on Wednesday when the Crusaders hauled in all but one of the 19 available first-place votes to claim the No. 1 ranking for the fourth-straight poll.

Unbeaten Angelo State hauled in the only other available first-place vote in Wednesday’s listing before settling into the No. 3 position, while Southern Arkansas (No. 2), Point Loma (No. 4) and Tampa (No. 5) rounded out the top 5.

Spot Nos. 11 through 25 is newcomers aplenty as 11 new teams checked into the national rankings in the first regular season edition of the poll. Among the newcomers is 25th-ranked Hawaii Hilo who is making its first appearance in the national rankings in the 21-year history of the NCBWA Division II Top 25, as well as 19th-ranked Cal State San Bernardino who is in the NCBWA Top 25 for the first time since boasting a No. 13 ranking on March 16, 2010.

Rk.School [1st place]LocationRecordPts.Pvs.
1.North Greenville [19]Tigerville, S.C.10-04991
2.Angelo State [1]San Angelo, Texas11-14743
3.Southern ArkansasMagnolia, Ark.7-24592
4.TampaTampa, Fla.7-24385
5.Columbus StateColumbus, Ga.9-14036
T6.Cal State San BernardinoSan Bernardino, Calif.9-134919
T6.Colorado MesaGrand Junction, Colo.4-13498
8.West ChesterWest Chester, Pa.3-13477
9.Southern New HampshireManchester, N.H.3-03369
10.MontevalloMontevallo, Ala.9-133012
11.Point LomaSan Diego, Calif.8-32784
12.Illinois-SpringfieldSpringfield, Ill.4-327010
13.Central OklahomaEdmond, Okla.7-226613
14.UNC PembrokePembroke, N.C.9-025518
15.St. Edward'sAustin, Texas8-220315
16.Cal Poly PomonaPomona, Calif.7-118611
17.West FloridaPensacola, Fla.7-218520
18.MillersvilleMillersville, Pa.7-316116
19.QuincyQuincy, Ill4-312517
20.MolloyRockville Centre, N.Y.3-011522
21.Rogers StateClaremore, Okla.9-1110NR
22.WingateWingate, N.C.8-310724
23.MSU DenverDenver, Colo.9-28123
24.Valdosta StateValdosta, Ga.7-355RV
25.Lenoir-RhyneHickory, N.C.10-347NR
Also receiving votes: Hawaii Hilo (7-1) 28; Drury (5-1) 20; Missouri Southern State (8-4) 6; East Stroudsburg (4-2) 5; Henderson State (8-3) 5; Franklin Pierce (0-0) 3; Azusa Pacific (6-7) 2; Palm Beach Atlantic (6-1) 2; San Francisco State (7-1) 1.
Dropped out: Belmont Abbey (14); Missouri Southern State (21); Hawaii Hilo (25).

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.