LSU tops 2023 NCBWA Preseason Poll

All-American Dylan Crews has the Tigers poised to chase a national title in 2023.
All-American Dylan Crews has the Tigers poised to chase a national title in 2023.

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 26th year with its 2023 inaugural and weekly surveys, and the LSU Tigers (40-22 in 2022) rate No. 1 in the preseason poll ahead of No. 2 Tennessee and No. 3 Stanford. 

This is the third time for the Tigers to receive the NCBWA’s preseason nod for pre-campaign No. 1 along with the first NCBWA preseason poll in 1998 and in 2001. 

Ole Miss, coming off the school’s first NCAA men’s championship in any sport at Omaha in 2022, is No. 7 in the initial survey. Some of the other traditional powers among the Top 10 are No. 4 Florida, No. 5 Texas A&M, No. 6 Arkansas, No. 8 Wake Forest, No. 9 Vanderbilt, and No. 10 Louisville. 

At the end of ’22 the Rebels also became the 19th different team to finish No. 1 in the NCBWA survey since the writers’ group first made selections in 1998. 

Other previous No. 1 entries on the preseason NCBWA rankings have been Southern California (1999), Miami (Fla.) (2000), Stanford (2002), Texas (2003, '06, '10, '22) Rice (2004, '07), Cal State Fullerton (2005, '14), Arizona State (2008), North Carolina (2009), TCU (2011, '17), Florida (2012, '18, '21), Arkansas (2013), and Vanderbilt (2015, '19, '20). 

There are eight conferences represented in the first 35-team survey with the Southeastern leading the way with 11 squads among 305 schools competing in NCAA Division I. The Atlantic Coast Conference is next with nine schools in the 2023 preseason poll. Last year there were 14 different conferences with teams in the poll, and a record 19 conferences were represented in 2019 surveys. 

There were 75 schools rated or receiving votes among the first Top 35 in ‘23, and the poll will continue with Top 30 teams on Monday, Feb. 20 through the completion of the NCAA World Series in Omaha, Neb., in late June. Last February, an NCBWA preseason record 83 schools nabbed votes in the first survey.

5.Texas A&MSEC44-204
7.Ole MissSEC42-231
8.Wake ForestACC41-19-1RV
11.Oklahoma StateBig 1242-2217
12.East CarolinaAmerican Athletic46-2114
13.North CarolinaACC42-2215
15.MarylandBig Ten48-1419
16.TCUBig 1238-2225
18.Virginia TechACC45-1413
20.Southern MissSun Belt47-1911
22.Texas TechBig 1239-2223
23.Oregon StatePac-1248-1810
24.N.C. StateACC36-21RV
26.TexasBig 1247-228
28.South CarolinaSEC27-28-
29.UC Santa BarbaraBig West44-1428
30.ConnecticutAmerican Athletic50-1616
31.Mississippi StateSEC26-30-
32.Florida StateACC34-25RV
34.Notre DameACC41-175
35.RutgersBig Ten44-15-
Others receiving votes (listed alphabetically): Alabama State (34-25), Arizona State (26-32), California Baptist (36-20), Campbell (41-19), Central Michigan (42-19), Clemson (35-23), Coastal Carolina (39-20-1), Coppin State (24-30), Creighton (31-18), Dallas Baptist (34-24-1), Davidson (43-13), Evansville (32-24), Georgia (36-23), Georgia Southern (41-20), Georgia Tech (36-24), Gonzaga (37-19), Grand Canyon (41-21), Houston (37-24), Illinois (30-22), Indiana (27-32), Kennesaw State (36-28), Kentucky (33-26), Liberty (37-23), Long Island (37-21), Louisiana (37-23), Louisiana Tech (43-21), Michigan (34-28), Oklahoma (45-24), Old Dominion (41-17), Oral Roberts (38-20), Prairie View A&M (25-27), San Diego (37-20), San Diego State (18-38), Seattle University (15-33), Texas State (47-14), Troy (32-24), UC Irvine (32-24), UNLV (36-22), Utah (26-27-1), Wright State (30-27).
By conference: SEC 11, ACC 9, Pac-12 5, Big 12 4, American Athletic 2, Big Ten 2, Big West 1, Sun Belt 1.
Records are from the 2022 season

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication and writing contests.