MORGANTOWN, W. Va. (NCBWA) – After two rounds of voting by the organization, 72 baseball student-athletes comprise the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Associations 22nd Annual All-America first, second and third All-America teams, as announced on Wednesday afternoon.

Nineteen different conferences are represented, including eight conference championships teams. The three All-America squads are also made up of seven conference players of the year, seven conference pitchers of the year winners, two defensive players of the year, one relief pitcher of the year, one newcomer of the year and 12 first-round draft picks in the recent Major League Baseball Amateur Draft.

Members of this years team lead or are tied for the lead nationally in 25 different categories, including batting average (Nick Gonzales, New Mexico State, .432), runs (Joey Ortiz, New Mexico State, 85), runs per game ( Ortiz, 1.55), hits (Ortiz, 106), hits per game (Ortiz, 1.93), doubles (Cameron Cannon, Arizona, 56), doubles per game (Cannon, 0.52), triples (Garrett Mitchell, UCLA, 11), triples per game (Mitchell, 0.18), home runs (JJ Bleday, Vanderbilt, 26), runs batted in per game (Tristan Peterson, New Mexico State, 1.70), walks (Adley Rutschman, Oregon State, 76), walks per game (Rutschman, 1.33), on-base percentage (Rutschman, .575), total bases (Kody Hoese, Tulane, 183), slugging percentage (Jake Sanford, Western Kentucky, .805), sacrifice flies (Tristan English, Georgia Tech, 10), wins (Drake Fellows, Vanderbilt, Reid Detmers, Louisville, 12), earned run average (Chad Sykes, UNC Greensboro, 0.96), hits allowed per nine innings (Ethan Small, Mississippi State, 4.97), strikeout-to-walk-ratio (George Kirby, Elon, 17.83), walks allowed per nine innings (Kirby, 0.61), strikeouts (Detmers, 162), strikeouts per nine innings (Noah Song, Navy, 15.41) and saves (Garrett Acton, Illinois, 19).

Previous NCBWA All-America teams from 1996-2018 have featured the likes of P Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State, OF J.D. Drew of Florida State, P-DH Jason Jennings of Baylor, 1B Mark Teixeira of Georgia Tech, RHP Mark Prior of Southern California, SS Khalil Greene of Clemson, SS-2B Rickie Weeks of Southern, 3B Alex Gordon of Nebraska, P David Price of Vanderbilt, P-DH Brad Lincoln of Houston, C Buster Posey of Florida State, catcher Mike Zunino of Florida, 3B Kris Bryant of San Diego, P-1B A.J. Reed from Kentucky; OF Andrew Benintendi from Arkansas, OF Seth Beer of Clemson, UTL Brendan McKay from Louisville and Florida P Brady Singer among others.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site,

For more information on the NCAA Division I All-America team, contact NCBWA Assistant Executive Director Mike Montoro of West Virginia University at 304-293-2821.

Related link:
NCBWA All-America Teams (2001-19)