MORGANTOWN, W. Va. (NCBWA) – After two rounds of voting by the organization, 71 baseball student-athletes
comprise the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Associations 22nd Annual All-America first, second and third
teams, as announced on Wednesday.

Twenty-one different conferences are represented with nine conference championship teams included. The three
All-America squads are also made up of 14 conference players of the year, 12 conference pitchers of the year
winners and 12 first-round draft picks in the recent Major League Baseball Amateur Draft.

Members of this years team lead or are tied for the lead nationally in 16 different categories, including batting
average (Keston Hiura, UC Irvine, .442), hits per game (Adam Groesbeck, Air Force, 1.82), home runs (Jake
Adams, Iowa, 29), home runs per game (Adams, Iowa, 0.48), on-base percentage (Hiura, UC Irvine, .567), RBI
per game (Niko Hulszier, Morehead State, 1.39), slugging percentage (Brent Rooker, Mississippi State, .810),
total bases (Rooker, Mississippi State, 201), walks (Seth Beer, Clemson, 2016 Dick Howser Trophy recipient,
64), walks per game (D.J. Artis, Liberty, 1.19), doubles (Rooker, Mississippi State, 30), hits allowed per nine
innings (Wyatt Marks, Louisiana, 4.40), strikeouts (JP Sears, The Citadel, 142), strikeout to walk ratio (Casey
Mize, Auburn, 12.11), strikeouts per nine innings (Marks, Louisiana, 15.17) and victories (Jake Thompson,
Oregon State, 14).

Previous NCBWA All-America teams from 1996-2016 have featured the likes of P Stephen Strasburg of San
Diego State, OF J.D. Drew of Florida State, P-DH Jason Jennings of Baylor, 1B Mark Teixeira of Georgia Tech,
RHP Mark Prior of Southern California, SS Khalil Greene of Clemson, SS-2B Rickie Weeks of Southern, 3B
Alex Gordon of Nebraska, P David Price of Vanderbilt, P-DH Brad Lincoln of Houston, C Buster Posey of
Florida State, catcher Mike Zunino of Florida, 3B Kris Bryant of San Diego, P-1B A.J. Reed from Kentucky; OF
Andrew Benintendi from Arkansas, OF Beer among others.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site,>

For more information on the NCAA Division I All-America team, contact NCBWA Assistant Executive Director Mike Montoro of West Virginia University at 304-293-2821.

Related link:
NCBWA All-America Teams (2001-2017)