DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association
continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the ninth year with
its 2006 preseason predictions and weekly surveys. This is the final poll
of the 2006 season.

The Oregon State Beavers won two straight from North Carolina
after dropping Game 1 to win the best-of-3 championship series and the
national championship at the College
World Series. After coming through the losers' bracket by shutting out Rice
in consecutive games, OSU trailed 5-0 in Game 2 to Carolina, but rallied
to win, 11-7, and force a deciding Game 3. Monday night, the Beavers broke
a 2-2 tie in the eighth inning and held on for a 3-2 win to claim the school's
first national title.

The ACC, SEC and Big 12, with six teams in the poll, finished with the
most ranked teams of any conference. Overall, this final poll had representation
by 11 different conferences among the 284 baseball-playing schools in the
NCAA Division I ranks.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college
baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of
the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates
and official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year
and Pro-Line Cap/NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors the Pro-Line
Cap Division I Players of the Week, the Stopper of the Year, and publication
and writing contests.