DALLAS (NCBWA) A total of 34 standout freshmen college baseball players from every part of the country are featured on the 2011 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Freshman All-American Team, the organization announced today.

The 2011 NCBWA Freshman All-American Team features players from 17 conferences and seven conference championship teams. The two All-American squads are also made up of 14 conference Rookie of the Year· winners.

Four teams placed two players (overall) on the two teams, while 26 schools placed at least one player on the teams. Jacksonville placed two players on the first team, while Arkansas, Texas and Vanderbilt also each had two players selected to the teams.

The ACC, Atlantic Sun, MEAC and SEC placed two players apiece on the first team. The SEC put six members on the first and second teams, the Atlantic Sun had four and the ACC and Big South had three selections apiece on the two squads.

The 2011 NCBWA National Freshman Player of the Year and National Freshman Pitcher of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, June 14.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site,

For more information, contact NCBWA 2nd Vice-President Ryan Bomberger (434-582-2292, or NCBWA Assistant Executive Director Mike Montoro (304-293-2821,