DALLAS (NCBWA) A total of 32 standout freshmen college baseball players from every part of the country are featured on the 2012 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Freshman All-American Team, the organization announced today.

The 2012 NCBWA Freshman All-American Team features players from 19 conferences and eight conference championship teams. The two All-American squads are also made up of 14 conference Rookie of the Year· winners. In addition, two conference ·Pitcher of the Year· and 22 all-conference honorees were named to the team.

Four programs placed two players each on the two teams, while 24 schools placed at least one player on the teams. N.C. State produced two players on the first team, while Kentucky, College World Series participant Stony Brook and UC Santa Barbara also each placed two players on the teams.

The ACC had three players selected to the first team, while the Mountain West and SEC placed two players apiece on the first team. The ACC placed five members on the first and second teams combined, with the SEC and CAA having three selections apiece on the teams.

The 2012 NCBWA National Freshman Player of the Year and National Freshman Pitcher of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, June 12.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site,

For more information, contact NCBWA 2nd Vice-President Ryan Bomberger (434-582-2292, or NCBWA Assistant Executive Director Mike Montoro (304-293-2821,