DENVER (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association,
working in Association with the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce,
has released the list of the 10 finalists for the Dick Howser Trophy,
given to the top player in collegiate baseball. Eight of the 10 finalists
begin NCAA Regional play today.

The membership of the NCBWA will choose the Dick Howser Trophy based
on three rounds of voting. The 2004 winner will announced at the College
World Series in Omaha on Friday, June 18 at 9:30 a.m. CDT.

The finalists include: Rutgers P Jeff Frazier, Nebraska 3B Alex Gordon,
Ole Miss 1B/P Stephen Head, Texas P J.P. Howell, Rice P Philip Humber, East
Carolina DH Ryan Jones, Virginia UT Joe Koshansky, Stanford 2B Jed Lowrie,
South Carolina C Landon Powell and Long Beach State P Jered Weaver.

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University
All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who died of brain
cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious

Criteria for consideration for the trophy include performance on the
field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified
by Dick Howser's life.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at Florida
State University (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a career
as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks,
Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas
City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball
stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

The St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce is in its 105th year of existence
in 2004. The organization has long been a vital force in the baseball affairs
of the city, both in spring training and during the pursuit of a major league
baseball franchise for the Tampa Bay area, and continues its solid role
in the 21st Century.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed
to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college
media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death.
Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are:

1987 Mike Fiore, Miami

1988 Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State

1989 Scott Bryant, Texas

1990 Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade C.C. South

1991 Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas)

1992 Brooks Kieschnick, Texas

1993 Brooks Kieschnick, Texas

1994 Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech

1995 Todd Helton, Tennessee

1996 Kris Benson, Clemson

1997 J.D. Drew, Florida State

1998 Eddy Furniss, LSU

1999 Jason Jennings, Baylor

2000 Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech

2001 Mark Prior, Southern California

2002 Khalil Greene, Clemson

2003 Rickey Weeks, Southern

Related link:

Semifinalists named for 2004 Dick Howser Trophy
(May 13)

· Dick Howser Trophy
official site (dickhowsertrophy.com)