FWAA Missouri News

Missouri's Drinkwitz named keynote speaker for 2024 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Awards Dinner

The Charlotte Touchdown Club, in conjunction with the Football Writers Association of America, officially announced today that Eliah Drinkwitz, the Head Football Coach at the University of Missouri, will be its Keynote Speaker for the 2024 Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet on Dec 9.

Seven repeat honorees highlight 2023 FWAA All-America Team presented by the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic

The 2023 Football Writers Association of America All-America Team, presented in partnership with the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic, is highlighted by seven repeat All-Americans and a record 10 players from the four teams competing in the College Football Playoff at the front of players from 36 different schools. There are 22 schools represented from eight Football Bowl Subdivision conferences on the first team and all 10 conferences plus an Independent are included on the overall 54-man team.

Twelve coaches named 2023 Eddie Robinson Award finalists

The Football Writers Association of America, in conjunction with the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced 12 finalists for the 2023 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award on Tuesday. The award winner this season will be chosen from among a list that includes one repeat finalist and two other finalists from previous seasons, including one who is now a nine-time finalist. Eight of the finalists won conference championships this year, including three who will compete in the upcoming College Football Playoff; seven of the honorees are first-time finalists.

Game-winning SEC-record field goal earns Missouri Pop-Tarts Crazy Good Play of the Week

Missouri is the winner of the Pop-Tarts Crazy Good Play of the Week for Week 2. The winning play is Harrison Mevis' SEC-record 61-yard field goal on the final play that gave Missouri a 30-27 upset win over Kansas State.

South Alabama is Cheez-It National Team of the Week

The South Alabama Jaguars scored on their opening possession and never trailed in a 33-7 win at Oklahoma State, gaining 6.3 yards per play while rolling up 395 total yards en route to their first win over a Big 12 opponent. For romping to the program’s second win over a Power Five opponent, South Alabama earned the Cheez-It National Team of the Week honor, as selected by the All-America Committee of the Football Writers Association of America.

Fresh Four: Week 8

Each week during the 2022 season, we will highlight the notable performances of first-year players and head coaches leading up to the selection of our annual Freshman All-America Team and the Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach of the Year Award presented by Chris Doering Mortgage. Here are the top performances from Week 8, the weekend of Oct. 22: