DALLAS (FWAA) Michigan safety Khaleke Hudson was a one-man wrecking crew to Minnesota·s offense last Saturday, racking up a school-record eight tackles-for-loss among his 15 total tackles as Michigan retained the Little Brown Jug with a 33-10 win. Hudson added three sacks and forced a fumble, a total effort that has earned him the FWAA/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week for the week of Nov. 4.

Hudson, a 6-0, 205-pound sophomore from McKeesport, Pa., was the primary reason Michigan's defense limited Minnesota to 164 total yards only 36 in the second half. His eight tackles for loss took away 46 Minnesota yards and broke a 16-year-old record held by Larry Foote at Iowa in 2001 with seven. Adding in his three sacks · also a career high that led to another 34 yards in losses · Hudson accounted for 80 yards taken away from Minnesota·s offense.

The 15 tackles a new career high for Hudson and the most by any Michigan player this year · included 12 solo stops. His forced fumble came in the third quarter on a blitz. Michigan, which led 20-7 at the time, recovered and converted the takeaway into a touchdown and a 27-7 lead to put the game away.

Hudson is now tied for team lead in solo tackles with 32, and his 51 total tackles are third. He has 14 tackles for loss to lead the Wolverines, accounting for minus-67 yards lost. His 5.5 sacks are second on the team, and he has one interception.

Each Tuesday during the regular season, the FWAA has selected a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week since 2001. This is the final weekly selection for the 2017 season. Hudson will be added to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Wed., Nov. 15. The winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2017 FWAA All-America Team.

The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's entire membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Bronko Nagurski Trophy finalists. The committee members then select the winner as the best defensive player in college football.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet, presented by ACN, will be held on Mon., Dec. 4 at the Charlotte Convention Center. In addition to the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner's announcement, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, sponsored by the CTC and Florida East Coast Railway.

The FWAA has chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football then became a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw "Bronko" Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

The Football Writers Association of America, founded in 1941, consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com.


The Bronko Nagurski TrophyThe Charlotte Touchdown Club is a non-profit organization founded in 1991 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C., region. The club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. Since 1991, the club has raised more than $2,000,000 to benefit area high school and collegiate athletics. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or jrocco@touchdownclub.com). The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is touchdownclub.com.

ACN, Inc.
Founded in 1993, ACN is the world's largest direct seller of telecommunications, energy and essential services for residential and business customers. ACN provides the services people need and use every day including phone service, high-speed internet, wireless, television, security and automation, computer support, payment processing and natural gas and electricity. ACN operates in 25 countries with offices located throughout North America, Europe, Latin America, Asia and the Pacific. For more information, visit myacn.com. For information on ACN's home-based business opportunity, visit acninc.com.

Florida East Coast Railway
FECR is a regional freight railroad that extends along a 351-mile corridor between Jacksonville, Fla., and Miami, Fla., with exclusive rail access to the Port of Palm Beach, Port Everglades (Ft. Lauderdale) and the Port of Miami. For more information, visit fecrwy.com.

Electrolux is a global leader in appliances for household and professional use, selling more than 50 million products to customers in more than 150 countries every year. The company focuses on innovations that are thoughtfully designed, based on extensive consumer insight, to meet the real needs of consumers and professionals. Electrolux products include refrigerators, dishwashers, washing machines, vacuum cleaners, cookers and air-conditioners sold under esteemed brands such as Electrolux, Frigidaire, Kelvinator, AEG, and Eureka. In 2012, Electrolux had sales of $17 billion ($5.1 billion in North America) and 58,000 employees. The Electrolux North American headquarters is located at 10200 David Taylor Drive, Charlotte, NC 28262 in the University Research Park. For more information visit http://newsroom.electrolux.com/us/.

2017 Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Players of the Week

Weekend of Sept. 2: Jordan Wyatt, SMU

· Weekend of Sept. 9: Austin Bryant, Clemson

· Weekend of Sept. 16: Kameron Kelly, San Diego State

· Weekend of Sept. 23: Josey Jewell, Iowa

· Weekend of Sept. 30: Dorian O'Daniel, Clemson

· Weekend of Oct. 7: Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama

· Weekend of Oct. 14: Austin Hall, Memphis

· Weekend of Oct. 21: TJ Carter, Memphis

· Weekend of Oct. 28: Paddy Fisher, Northwestern

· Weekend of Nov. 4: Khaleke Hudson, Michigan

Related link:

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (All-Time Winners, Finalists and Players of the Week)