FWAA News from Steve Richardson News

FWAA recognizes Super 11 from 2022 season

Two first-time winners and nine previous ones comprise the 14th Super 11 Awards, which the Football Writers Association of America give out annually to the best performing College Sports Communicators departments in the Football Bowl Subdivision. The awards announced this week are for the 2022 season.

Now Taking Edward Aschoff Rising Star Award Applications

Rising Star Award Nominations Due May 15. 

Dykes named keynote speaker for 2023 Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet

The Charlotte Touchdown Club in conjunction with the Football Writers Association of America, officially announced today Sonny Dykes, Head Football Coach at Texas Christian University, as Keynote Speaker for the 2023 Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet scheduled for Monday, December 4th.

FWAA's Volney Meece Scholarship

FWAA Announces Volney Meece Scholarship Applications Now Being Accepted

FWAA Best Writing Contest Open for Entries

Submitting Entries for 31st Annual FWAA Best Writing Contest

Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach Dinner

Wrap-up of Steve Spuririer First-Year Coach Dinner

Clemson's Davis named Bronko Legends recipient

Clemson’s Jeff Davis has been named the recipient of the 2023 Bronko Nagurski Legends Award and will be honored at the Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet on Dec. 4 at the Charlotte Convention Center.

Call for entries to 31st Annual Best Writing Contest

Call to Entries for 31st Annual FWAA Best Writing Contest 

Dufresne Receives Bert McGrane Award

Chris Dufresne remembered with Bert McGrane Award

Kate Shatel Named as Volney Meece Scholarship Winner

Volney Meece Scholarship Recipient Named 

Hunt Selected 2022 FWAA Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Long-time Philadelphia journalist Donald Hunt has been named the recipient of the 2022 Football Writers Association of America's Lifetime Achievement Award, it was announced on Thursday.

Dykes wins 2022 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award

TCU head coach Sonny Dykes guided the Horned Frogs to a 12-0 start and their first berth in the College Football Playoff in this his first season, thrilling fans along the way with a series of come-from-behind wins behind a dynamic offense that produced a Heisman Trophy finalist. In recognition of TCU's five wins over nationally-ranked opponents and playing at a championship level throughout the season, Dykes has won the 2022 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year, as selected by the Football Writers Association of America and presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

FWAA, Goodyear Cotton Bowl unveil 2022 All-America Team

The 2022 Football Writers Association of America All-America Team, presented in partnership with the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic, is headlined by nine first-teamers from the four teams competing in the College Football Playoff, three repeat All-Americans and a record 16 total selections from the Big Ten Conference. There are 19 schools represented from six Football Bowl Subdivision conferences on the first team and 34 different schools and eight conferences plus an Independent included on the overall 54-man team.

Michigan's Oluwatimi wins 2022 Outland Trophy

Michigan center Olusegun Oluwatimi was named the recipient of the 77th Outland Trophy on Thursday night during The Home Depot College Football Awards. The Outland Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s best college interior lineman on offense or defense. Oluwatimi is the Wolverines’ first Outland Trophy winner.

Eight finalists named for Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award

The Football Writers Association of America, in conjunction with the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced eight finalists for the 2022 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award on Tuesday. The award will have a first-time winner this season chosen from among a list of three repeat finalists from 2021, five former finalists overall, three coaches competing in this season’s College Football Playoff and five who are leading conference champions. Four of them will face other finalists in their bowl games.

Alabama's Anderson Jr. repeats as Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner

For the second time in the award’s history, a repeat winner has claimed the Bronko Nagurski Trophy as Alabama linebacker Will Anderson Jr. has once again been chosen as the nation’s top defensive player by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. The Southeastern Conference leader in sacks and tackles for loss will be honored Tuesday night with the award here.

Three finalists named for 2022 Outland Trophy

OMAHA (FWAA) – A center on the nation’s fifth-best rushing offense and national title contender, the highest-graded offensive tackle throughout the season and one of the nation’s top pass rushing threats are the three finalists for the 2022 Outland Trophy by the Football Writers Association of America. Calijah Kancey of Pitt, a defensive tackle with 14.0 tackles for loss and 7.0 sacks; Olusegun Oluwatimi, a center who has helped guide Michigan to consecutive Big Ten East division titles, and Northwestern offensive tackle Peter Skoronski, a perennial Big Ten stalwart and pro scout favorite, are this season’s superior linemen.

Inaugural Steve Spurrier Legend Coach Awardee Announced; Semifinalists for First-Year Coach Chosen

Bob Stoops Announced As Steve Spurrier Legend Coach; Semfinalists for First-Year Coach Chosen  

Seven semifinalists named for 2022 Outland Trophy

Seven semifinalists for the 77th Outland Trophy – five offensive linemen and two defensive tackles – were announced Wednesday by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee. The seven come from different schools within four separate conferences – the Big Ten has four of the seven – and represent all four positions eligible for the award.

Four finalists named for 2022 Bronko Nagurski Trophy

Four finalists for the 2022 Bronko Nagurski Trophy, one of them last year’s winner, another representing the top team in the current College Football Playoff rankings and two of the nation’s premier defensive linemen were named Wednesday by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club as candidates for the award honoring the nation’s top defensive player. One finalist’s team has already clinched a spot in his conference championship game and another can clinch a spot with a win on Saturday.