DALLAS (FWAA) Kansas State cornerback Allen Chapman has been named the FWAA/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week for games of the weekend of Nov. 3.

Chapman, a 5-11, 180-pound senior from San Francisco, Calif., had three interceptions in the Wildcats' 44-30 victory over Oklahoma State. His three interceptions tied for the second-most in school history and were the most by a Wildcat since Chris Canty had three against Akron in 1995.

He returned his first interception 29 yards for a touchdown in the second quarter. In addition to his interceptions, Chapman recorded five tackles and batted away two passes.

Chapman, the final FWAA national defensive player of the week selection for the season, will be added to the 2012 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List. Five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy will be announced by the Football Writers Association of America on Nov. 15. The winner will be revealed on Dec. 3 during a banquet that the Charlotte Touchdown Club sponsors at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Notre Dame head coach Brian Kelly will be the keynote speaker at the banquet.

Each Tuesday during the 2012 season the FWAA All-America Committee has selected a national defensive player of the week from nominations made by the 11 Division I Bowl Subdivision conferences and major independents.

The FWAA has sponsored a National Defensive Player of the Year award since 1993 and has named a National Defensive Player of the Week since the 2001 season. Last year, Boston College linebacker Luke Kuechly won the coveted Bronko Nagurski Trophy at season's end.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is given in memory of the legendary All-American lineman at Minnesota (1927-29). Nagurski dominated college football at Minnesota as a bruising fullback and defensive tackle and could have been an All-America at any position. He then became a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s.

The Bronko Nagurski TrophyThe Charlotte Touchdown Club is a non-profit organization founded in 1990 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C., region. The club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or jrocco@touchdownclub.com). The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is www.touchdownclub.com.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization
founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football
for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists,
as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works
to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America
team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve
Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com or 972-713-6198.

2012 Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Players of the Week

Sept. 1: Derrick Wells, Minnesota

· Sept. 8: Jarvis Jones, Georgia

· Sept. 15: Yawin Smallwood, Connecticut

· Sept. 22: Manti Te'o, Notre Dame

· Sept. 29: Chip Thompson, East Carolina

· Oct. 6: Brandon Sharpe, Syracuse

· Oct. 13: Khaseem Greene, Rutgers

· Oct. 20: Kevin Minter, LSU

· Oct. 27: Jarvis Jones, Georgia

· Nov. 3: Allen Chapman, Kansas State