DALLAS (FWAA) Nebraska tackle Jared Crick has been named the FWAA/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week for games of the weekend of Oct. 31.

Crick, a 6-6, 285-pound sophomore from Cozad, Neb., made 13 total tackles (10 unassisted) including five sacks and two others for loss in Nebraska's 20-10 victory at Baylor. Crick also broke up a pass and recovered a fumble.

His five sacks in a game set a Nebraska school record and are the most in a single game by any player in the nation this season. He is the second Nebraska tackle to be named Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the week after Ndamukong Suh earlier this season.

Crick will be added to the 2009 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List. The Bronko Nagurski Trophy will be presented to the best defensive player in college football on Dec. 7 by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Five finalists for the Nagurski Trophy will be announced on Nov. 19.

Each week during the 2009 season the FWAA All-America Committee will select a national defensive player of the week from nominations made by the 11 Division I Bowl Subdivision Conferences and major independents.

Last season, Texas end Brian Orakpo won the coveted Bronko Nagurski Trophy during the 14th season the FWAA named a national defensive player of the year.

The Bronko Nagurski TrophyThe Charlotte Touchdown Club is a non-profit organization founded in 1990 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C., region. The club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization
founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,100 men and women who cover college football
for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists,
as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works
to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America
team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve
Richardson at or 972-713-6198.

2009 Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Players of the Week

Sept. 5: B.W. Webb, William & Mary

· Sept. 12: Nate Triplett, Minnesota

· Sept. 19: Donald Butler, Washington

· Sept. 26: Pat Angerer, Iowa

· Oct. 3: Rolando McClain, Alabama

· Oct. 10: Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska

· Oct. 17: Ryan Kerrigan, Purdue

· Oct. 24: DeAndre McDaniel, Clemson

· Oct. 31: Jared Crick, Nebraska

· Nov. 7: Matt O'Hanlon, Nebraska