March 27, 2013
For Immediate Release
Contact: Logan Lawrence
Cal State-East Bay's Sharrer, St. Cloud State's Lieser honored
Bookmark and Share

DALLAS (NCBWA) – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association released its weekly NCAA Division II National Players of the Week awards of the season for the period ending March 24. Cal State-East Bay senior infielder Charlie Sharrer is the National Hitter of the Week while St. Cloud State senior righthander Scott Lieser is the National Pitcher of the Week.

Charlie Sharrer (Palmdale, Calif.) put together impressive performances at the plate this past weekend for the Pioneers as they swept Holy Names in three games this past weekend. The senior from Palmdale compiled a .692 batting average and a 1.385 slugging percentage after hitting 9-for-13 with three runs scored, three doubles, two home runs, and six RBI. During Saturday's 11-1 series finale win he racked up four hits, one double and two home runs, with two runs scored and five runs batted in. This is the first national award for Sharrer and for the Pioneers.

Scott Lieser (Browerville, Minn.) crafted a complete game no-hitter on March 22 in a 10-0 decision against NSIC rival Sioux Falls. In a game played at the Minneapolis Metrodome, Lieser charted four strikeouts and faced 22 batters in the no-hitter. He just missed a perfect game with the only USF batter reaching first on a hit by pitch. Lieser continues to set a strong pace for 2013 with a 5-1 overall record for the top 10 ranked Huskies. He owns a 2.01 ERA with 25 strikeouts to his credit in 31.1 innings of work this season. SCSU is 15-2 this spring with a 4-0 mark in league play. This is Lieser’s second time to win the National Pitcher of the Week award as he won it his sophomore season. This is the third time a St. Cloud pitcher has garnered the honor. 

Division II Regional Players of the Week:
• Atlantic: Jeff Conley, Alderson-Broaddus (Hitter); Kyle Schneider, Slippery Rock (Pitcher)
• Central: Stetson Olson, Minnesota State (Hitter); Scott Lieser, St. Cloud State (Pitcher)
• East: Zach Mathieu, Franklin Pierce (Hitter); Joe Salanitiri, Queens (NY) (Pitcher)
• Midwest: Austin Crutcher, Bellarmine (Hitter); Zach Standefer, Missouri-St. Louis (Pitcher)
• South: Zach Gawrych, Tampa (Hitter); Kentrail Pierce, Lynn (Pitcher)
• South Central: Ryan Small, Tarleton State (Hitter); Aaron Lambrix, Abilene Christian (Pitcher)
• Southeast: Jordan Edgerton, UNC-Pembroke (Hitter); Nick Lomascolo, Catawba (Pitcher)
• West: Charlie Sharrer, Cal State-East Bay (Hitter); Austin Christiansen, Dixie State (Pitcher)

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Howser Award Player of the Year, Regional Player of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-America awards, publication and writing contests.

2013 NCBWA Division II Players of the Week:
• Feb. 10: Lee Neumann, Angelo State (Hitter); Nick Fogarty, Valdosta State (Pitcher)
• Feb. 17: Josh Wenger, Concord (Hitter); Ryan Goodbrand, UC San Diego (Pitcher)
• Feb. 24: Connor McCain, Alabama-Huntsville (Hitter); Chris Murphy, Millersville (Pitcher)
• March 3: Dylan Tice, Indiana, Pa. (Hitter); Junior Mendez, Southern New Hampshire (Pitcher)
• March 10: Gioncarlo Brugnoni, Grand Valley State (Hitter); Shane Trattles, Mary (Pitcher)
• March 17: Kyle Giusti, Abilene Christian (Hitter); Chris Murphy, Millersville (Pitcher)
• March 24: Charlie Sharrer, Cal State-East Bay (Hitter); Scott Lieser, St. Cloud State (Pitcher)
• March 31: Colton Little, Colorado Mesa (Hitter); Dylan James, West Texas A&M (Pitcher)
• April 7: Nate Olinger, Colorado Mines (Hitter); Stephen Cooke, Indiana (Pa.) (Pitcher)
• April 14: Ryan Messina, Shepard (Hitter); Dallas Ponder, Texas A&M-Kingsville (Pitcher)
• April 21: Brady Capshaw, Southern Arkansas (Hitter); Robert Frank, St. Thomas Aquanis (Pitcher)
• April 28: Jacob Nelson, Metro State (Hitter); Collin Sherrod, St. Edward's (Pitcher)
• May 5: Zach Bricknell, Young Harris (Hitter); Brian Ernst, East Stroudsburg (Pitcher)