April 13, 2011
For Immediate Release
Contact: Logan Lawrence
Cameron's Larsson, West Florida's Hawkins honored
Bookmark and Share

DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association released its NCAA Division II National Players of the Week awards for the period ending April 11th. Cameron junior outfielder Chase Larsson is the National Hitter of the Week while West Florida junior lefthander Ben Hawkins is the National Pitcher of the Week.

Larsson (Vancouver, British Columbia) tied a school record with eight RBIs in a single game and matched a school and conference record with three home runs in a single game over the weekend against East Central. The Vancouver native produced a massive average at the plate for the Aggies, going 8-of-10 (.800) with a whopping 2.100 slugging percentage. His 14 RBIs on the weekend put him in a tie with teammate Kenny Held for the nation's top spot, and his three home runs put more distance between his competitions as the nation's best home run hitter. For the season, Larsson has a .465 batting average with 21 home runs and 57 RBI.

Hawkins (Rome, Ga.) hurled a complete game no-hitter against West Alabama in game two of Saturday's West Alabama doubleheader. He is the second Argonaut to throw a no-hitter in UWF's 17-year history as a D-II school. He allowed just two walks and struck out a career-high 12 batters. Hawkins has a perfect 9-0 record with a 0.86 earned-run average this season.

Division II Regional Players of the Week:
Atlantic: Brendan Costantino, Seton Hill (Hitter); Zach Jeney, Slippery Rock (Pitcher)
Central: Aaron Berner, Minnesota State (Hitter); Tadd Johansen, Wayne State (Neb.) (Pitcher)
East: Matt Umba, Wilmington (Hitter); Mackenzie King, Pace (Pitcher)
Midwest: Mike Bolling, Lewis (Hitter); Aaron Hilt, Ashland (Pitcher)
South: Dean Green, Barry (Hitter); Ben Hawkins, West Florida (Pitcher)
South Central: Chase Lusson, Cameron (Hitter); Heath Wyatt, SE Oklahoma State (Pitcher)
West: Grady Wood, Western Oregon (Pitcher)

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Members receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and official votes in the Howser Award Player of the Year, Regional Player of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-America awards, publication and writing contests.

2011 NCBWA Division II Players of the Week:
Feb. 20: Tyler Migl, St. Mary's, Texas (Hitter); Trey Mitchell, North Alabama (Pitcher)
Feb. 27: Wayne Hawkins, Arkansas-Monticello (Hitter); Dave Middendorf, Northern Kentucky (Pitcher)
March 6: Drew Dwelly, Barry (Hitter); Gabriel Asakura, Cal State-Los Angeles (Pitcher)
March 13: Kaleb Cunningham, Indianapolis (Hitter); Manny Rodriguez, Barry (Pitcher)
March 20: Brandon Gipson, Benedict (Hitter); Mike Fuller, Colorado-Mines (Pitcher)
March 27: Chase Larsson, Cameron (Hitter); Ryan Griffin, Alabama-Huntsville (Pitcher)
April 4: Jenzen Torres, Cal Poly Pomona (Hitter); Joby Lapkowicz, Slippery Rock (Pitcher)
April 11: Chase Larsson, Cameron (Hitter); Ben Hawkins, West Florida (Pitcher)
April 18: Dillon Hazlett, Emporia State (Hitter); Vinny DePierro, UMass Lowell (Pitcher)
April 25: Daniel Dillard, Western Oregon (Hitter); Zach Jeney, Slippery Rock (Pitcher)
May 2: Josh Vining, Valdosta State (Hitter); Scott Lieser, St. Cloud State (Pitcher)
May 9: Clay Mohr, New Mexico Highlands (Hitter); Grady Wood, Western Oregon (Pitcher)