May 20, 2008
For Immediate Release
Contact: Mike Montoro
CofC's Tice swats seven homers; Maryland's Swinson no-hits Delaware

DALLAS (NCBWA) The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) released the Pro-Line Athletic National Player of the Week awards for the period ending May 20. College of Charleston junior third baseman Jeremie Tice was named National Hitter of the Week, while Maryland sophomore right-hander Scott Swinson was named National Pitcher of the Week.

Pro-Line Athletic: The Choice of Champions.The NCBWA Board reviews candidates from each Division I Conference each week and names winners each Tuesday throughout the season.

Tice had three multiple home-run game as the Cougars won two of three games to close out the regular season. The Dacula, Ga., native, smashed two home runs at Clemson and two in each game of a Saturday doubleheader at Western Carolina. He also homered in the regular season finale at Western Carolina on Sunday. The junior batted .524 for the week with 15 RBIs, while scoring eight runs.

Swinson pitched the sixth no-hitter in school history Tuesday as Maryland blanked border rival Delaware, 4-0, to clinch the program's second 30-win season. The Ellicott City, Md., native struck out a career-high 10 batters and allowed only three runners, while facing two batters over the minimum. The effort came against a Delaware team that entered the game ranked among the nation's Top 40 teams in doubles and home runs and in the Top 50 in slugging percentage. Swinson posted his second complete-game victory of the season and recorded the first solo no-hitter by a Maryland pitcher since 1992.

With this week's honor, Swinson automatically is named to the watch list for Roger Clemens Award, given to the national collegiate pitcher of the year, sponsored by the Greater Houston Baseball Organization.

Fort Worth-based Pro-Line Athletic supplies the official cap to more than 100 Division I college teams and official uniforms and team wear to six Division I college teams. This is the fourth season Pro-Line has sponsored the NCBWA's Players of the Week. The sponsorship provides for plaques to be awarded to each of the weekly winners and other promotional consideration. For more information about Pro-Line, visit their Web site at

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official Web site,

For more information on the Pro-Line Athletic Players of the Week, contact NCBWA Assistant Executive Director Mike Montoro at West Virginia University at 304-293-2821.

2008 Pro-Line Athletic Players of the Week:
Feb. 26: Dustin Ackley, North Carolina (Hitter); Lance Lynn, Ole Miss (Pitcher)
March 4: Sawyer Carroll, Kentucky (Hitter); Barry Bowden, Southern Miss and Joey Seal, Norfolk State (Pitcher)
March 11: Aaron Murphree, Arkansas (Hitter); David Coulon, Arizona (Pitcher)
March 18: Tyler Kuhn, West Virginia (Hitter); Ricky Bowen, Mississippi State (Pitcher)
March 25: Mike McKenna, Florida Atlantic (Hitter); Aaron Crow, Missouri (Pitcher)
April 1: Alan Ahmady, Fresno State (Hitter); Brandon McClurg, Lipsomb and Josh Romanski, San Diego (Pitcher)
April 8: Ryan Pond, N.C. State (Hitter); Nick Haughian, Washington (Pitcher)
April 15: Jacob Priday, Missouri (Hitter); Stephen Strasburg, San Diego State (Pitcher)
April 22: Dexter Fontenot, Louisiana-Monroe (Hitter); Christopher Manno, Duke (Pitcher)
April 29: Ty Wright, Georgia Southern (Hitter); Chris Hernandez, Miami (Pitcher)
May 6: Clay Whittemore, Jacksonville State (Hitter); Kenn Kasparek, Texas (Pitcher)
May 13: David Anderson, Coastal Carolina (Hitter); Andrew Liebel, Long Beach State (Pitcher)
May 20: Jeremie Tice, College of Charleston (Hitter); Scott Swinson, Maryland (Pitcher)

Related link:
Pro-Line Athletic Player of the Week plaques