Football Writers Association of America Oct. 26, 2016
For Immediate Release
Contact: Schuyler Easterling
.pdf version
Senior lineman is caregiver for five siblings
Bookmark and Share  

DALLAS (FWAA) – Hawaii’s Makani Kema-Kaleiwahea is this week’s nominee for the 2016 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award.


Kema-Kaleiwahea grew up on O‘ahu as the oldest in an adoptive family of six kids. After receiving a football scholarship to the University of Arizona, his family followed him to Tucson, Ariz. Soon after, at the age of 18, he learned his five siblings were in an abusive environment and he became their caregiver, even though he was a full-time student-athlete.

After marrying in 2014, he and his wife, Brianna, found assistance from extended family members, who adopted three of the children. Makani and Brianna adopted his other two siblings. Kema-Kaleiwahea and his family returned home in 2015, as Makani transferred to Hawai‘i to bring the siblings and extended family closer together.

A 6-3, 240-pound redshirt senior lineman, Kema-Kaleiwahea has 27 tackles this season, including two sacks. The defensive lineman has started all eight games for the Rainbow Warriors, and he tallied four stops in this past Saturday’s 34-27 double-overtime upset win at Air Force.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).

About the Orange Bowl
The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 30, 2016. For more information on the 2016-17 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to Follow Orange Bowl: @OrangeBowl, Facebook and Instagram.

Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at

Editor's note: To download a print-quality photo of Makani Kema-Kaleiwahea, click on the photo within the release. 

2016 Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees
Sept. 14: James Conner, Pittsburgh
Sept. 21: Caylin Moore, TCU
Sept. 28: Riley Sorenson, Washington State
Oct. 5: Vincent Taylor, Oklahoma State
Oct. 12: Frank Ragnow, Arkansas
Oct. 19: Mulbah Car, Houston
Oct. 26: Makani Kema-Kaleiwahea, Hawaii
Nov. 2: Shaquem Griffin, UCF
Nov. 9: Tim White, Arizona State
Nov. 16: Adam Ploudre, Missouri
Nov. 23: Mike Sherels, Minnesota
Dec. 1: Quinton Flowers, USF

Related link:
Capital One Orange Bowl Courage Award