Football Writers Association of America Oct. 31, 2006
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Junior safety registers four interceptions vs. Louisiana-Lafayette

DALLAS (FWAA) – Middle Tennessee free safety Damon Nickson has been named the FWAA/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week for games the week of Oct. 28.

The Bronko Nagurski TrophyNickson, a 6-0, 177-pound junior free safety from Milton, Fla., intercepted four passes in Middle Tennessee’s 34-20 victory over Louisiana-Lafayette. One of his four interceptions – one shy of the NCAA record – was returned 28 yards for a touchdown. Nickson also registered six tackles and forced a fumble in the game.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy will be presented to the best defensive player in college football on Dec. 4 by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 900 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game day operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club is a non-profit organization founded in 1990 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C. region. The club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is

For more information on the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, contact FWAA executive director Steve Richardson (972-713-6198 or

2006 Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Players of the Week
• Sept. 2: Buster Davis, Florida State
• Sept. 9: James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
• Sept. 16: Prescott Burgess, Michigan
• Sept. 23: Terrail Lambert, Notre Dame
• Sept. 30: Philip Wheeler, Georgia Tech
• Oct. 7: Aaron Ross, Texas
• Oct. 14: Quentin Groves, Auburn
• Oct. 21: Ameer Ismail, Western Michigan
• Oct. 28: Damon Nickson, Middle Tennessee
• Nov. 4: Quinton Culberson, Mississippi State