Sun., Oct. 15: The Alabama Crimson Tide (7-0) received all 48 first-place votes to retain its No. 1 ranking in the FWAA-NFF Super 16 Poll. Each of the top five teams is unbeaten into mid-October and Georgia has moved up to No. 2. Clemson's loss at Syracuse dropped the Tigers to sixth in the rankings. Penn State remained third as the Big Ten boasts three of the top six in the poll. Virginia Tech, at No. 15, is the lone new entry to the poll this week. The Super 16 is released each Sunday morning during the season through Dec. 3.
Complete release | How they voted | Poll archive from
2017 FWAA Online Membership Application | Online FWAA directory (for current members)

Three turnovers forced by Star linebacker Austin Hall led the Tigers past Navy
Tues., Oct. 17: Austin Hall snagged two interceptions and a fumble recovery, takeaways that led to 10 Memphis points in the Tigers' 30-27 win over No. 24 Navy. For his stellar effort, Hall has been named the FWAA/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week for the week of Oct. 14. Hall, a 6-2, 205-pound sophomore from Collierville, Tenn., finished with 10 tackles and continued to add impact plays throughout the game. His one pass breakup came in the Memphis end zone, and his career-high second interception came with less than two minutes to play, clinching the game with Navy driving.
Complete release | Syracuse earns National Team of the Week honor for Week 7
Wed., Oct. 18: NC State's Roseboro nominated for Capital One Orange Bowl Courage Award
College Football Playoff Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic The Charlotte Touchdown Club Allstate Sugar Bowl College Football Hall of Fame
 National College Football Awards Association 247Sports  Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year College Sports Information Directors of America National Football Foundation