USBWA Memphis News

St. Bonaventure's Adams-Woods headlines Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has named five Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week for games of the week ending Sunday, Dec. 10.

McKillop, Smith to be presented with Dean Smith Award in Greensboro

In an evening of basketball legends hosted by the Greensboro Sports Council, Bob McKillop and Tubby Smith will be honored with the U.S. Basketball Writers Association’s Dean Smith Award, recognizing an individual in basketball who embodies the spirit and values of the late Coach Smith. McKillop, who won in 2019, and Smith, who won in 2021, will be presented with their awards at the Tanger Center for the Performing Arts at 300 N. Elm Street in Greensboro. A fireside chat with the legendary coaches will follow. The awards presentation is set for Tuesday, April 11 at 6 p.m ET.

USBWA unveils 2022-23 men's All-America Team

INDIANAPOLIS (USBWA) – A three-time All-American, three repeat members, last year’s Oscar Robertson Trophy winner and four players from the Big Ten are all members of the 2022-23 U.S. Basketball Writers Association's All-America Team. The 15-man team includes a member from each of the NCAA Tournament’s No. 1 seeds, seven players who were their conference players of the year, four players who were USBWA district players of the year, two of the country's top eight scorers and four of the top seven rebounders.

Memphis' Davis is Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected Memphis guard Kendric Davis as its Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week for games ending the week of Sunday, Jan. 15.