USBWA Auburn News

Kansas' Dickinson headlines Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week

INDIANAPOLIS (USBWA) – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has named five Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week for games of the week ending Sunday, Feb. 4.

Florida State's Bejedi headlines Ann Meyers Drysdale National Players of the Week

INDIANAPOLIS (USBWA) – For their performances in the period through Sunday, Jan. 14, this week’s five Ann Meyers Drysdale national honorees are Florida State guard Sara Bejedi; Middle Tennessee center Anastasii Boldyreva; Iowa guard Caitlin Clark; Kansas State center Ayoka Lee; and Auburn guard Honesty Scott-Grayson. The Tamika Catchings freshman award goes to USC guard JuJu Watkins, and the National Team of the Week is Iowa State.

Auburn's Smith wins 2021-22 Wayman Tisdale Award

Auburn forward Jabari Smith, a dynamic big man who turned the Tigers into one of the nation’s toughest matchups and helped lead the Tigers to the Southeastern Conference regular-season title, is the winner of this season’s Wayman Tisdale Award honoring the National Freshman Player of the Year based on voting by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association. Smith is Auburn’s first Tisdale Award winner and its first USBWA All-American since 1998-99.


Three repeat selections, three first-teamers from the Big Ten including its top scorer, a pair of teammates from top-ranked Gonzaga and the country’s leading rebounder headline the 2021-22 U.S. Basketball Writers Association Men's All-America Team. The 15-man team includes two of the country's top shooters, the third-leading scorer, seven players who were their conference players of the year and four players who were USBWA district players of the year.