INDIANAPOLIS (USBWA) The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected Northwestern guard Boo Buie as its Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week for games ending the week of Sunday, Dec. 20.

        Oscar Robertson TrophyAs the Big Ten Conference Player of the Week, Buie was nominated for the weekly award, which was chosen by a representative of the USBWA board of directors from a list of Division I conference players of the week. Once again, the USBWA will select a Division I men's National Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season. The USBWA has named Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week since the 2009-10 season.

Buie, a 6-2 sophomore guard from Albany, N.Y., scored a career-high 30 points in a decisive 79-65 conference win over 4th-ranked Michigan State in Sunday's Big Ten lid-lifter for the Wildcats. The win was Northwestern's first over an AP Top-5 opponent since defeating Michigan State in 1979.

Shooting 9-for-15 from the field, Buie's 30 points are the most by a Northwestern player since Scottie Lindsey scored 32 against Iowa on Feb. 25, 2018. Buie also matched his career high from three-point range going 5-of-6, while adding a game-high four assists to go along with three rebounds. Buie scored 15 points in a 100-48 win over Quincy on Dec. 15 to average 22.5 points per game for the week. He added four assists while matching his career high with five rebounds in the blowout win.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

At the conclusion of the regular season, the USBWA will name finalists for the award, which is voted on by the entire membership.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and the Oscar Robertson Trophy, contact executive director Malcolm Moran at 814-574-1485.

2020-21 Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week

Week ending Dec. 20: Boo Buie, Northwestern (Big Ten

· Week ending Dec. 27: Corey Kispert,
Gonzaga (West Coast Conference)

· Week ending
Jan. 3: Liam Robbins, Minnesota (Big Ten Conference)

Week ending Jan. 10: Matthew Hurt, Duke (Atlantic
Coast Conference)

· Week ending Jan. 17: Matt
Lewis, James Madison (Colonial Athletic Association)

Week ending Jan. 24: Jared Butler, Baylor (Big 12

· Week ending Jan. 31: Keve Aluma,
Virginia Tech (Atlantic Coast Conference)

Week ending Feb. 7: Terry Taylor, Austin Peay (Ohio Valley Conference)
Week ending Feb. 14: Drew Timme, Gonzaga (West Coast

· Week ending Feb. 21: Noah Williams,
Washington State (Pac-12 Conference)

· Week
ending Feb. 28: Cade Cunningham, Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)

All-time USBWA National
Players of the Week (Since 2009-10)