ST. LOUIS (USBWA) The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected Duke guard Jon Scheyer as its Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week for games ending the week of Sunday, Dec. 20. The USBWA's weekly honor is presented by Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook and will be handed out each Tuesday through Feb. 23 this season.

As the Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Week, Scheyer was nominated for the weekly award, which was chosen by a representative of the USBWA board of directors from a list of Division I conference players of the week.

Scheyer, a 6-5 senior from Northbrook, Ill., averaged 28 points, 6.5 rebounds, 8.5 assists and 1.5 steals in wins over Gardner-Webb and 15th-ranked Gonzaga. He shot 64 percent (16-25) from the field, 69.2 percent (9-13) from three-point range and 93.8 percent (15-16) from the foul line for the week.

Scheyer recorded a career-high 36 points to go along with eight rebounds and a career-best nine assists in last Tuesday's 113-68 win over Gardner-Webb. He was 11-13 from the field, including 7-9 from three-point range. He then closed out the week with a 20-point, five-rebound, eight-assist performance in Duke's 76-41 win over Gonzaga in New York's Madison Square Garden on Saturday.

This is the first season that the USBWA has selected a national player of the week. The weekly Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week is added to the Oscar Robertson Trophy watch list, which will be released at mid-season.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

        Oscar Robertson TrophyAt the conclusion of the regular season, the USBWA will name finalists for the award, which is voted on by the entire membership of the USBWA. The winner of the 2010 Oscar Robertson Trophy will be announced and presented by its namesake, Oscar Robertson, at the USBWA's annual awards breakfast on Fri., April 2 in Indianapolis, site of the 2010 NCAA Men's Final Four.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and the Oscar Robertson Trophy, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-421-0339.

Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook, the most comprehensive college basketball publication in the world, returns for its 29th season, bigger and better in 2009-10. Blue Ribbon long-known as "The Bible of College Basketball" · gives its readers the most thorough, up-to-date and timely evaluations of every Division I team in the country. For more information about Blue Ribbon Yearbooks, visit

2009-10 Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week

Week of Dec. 13: Gordon Hayward, Butler

· Week of Dec. 20: Jon Scheyer, Duke

· Week of Dec. 27: Devin Ebanks, West Virginia

· Week of Jan. 3: Jimmer Fredette, BYU

· Week of Jan. 10: Luke Harangody, Notre Dame

· Week of Jan. 17: Damion James, Texas

· Week of Jan. 24: Adrian Oliver, San Jose State

· Week of Jan. 31: Devan Downey, South Carolina

· Week of Feb. 7: Denis Clemente, Kansas State

· Week of Feb. 14: Jerome Randle, California