ST. LOUIS (USBWA) Memphis guard Tyreke Evans has been selected Freshman of the Year by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association for the 2008-09 season.

The 6-6 Evans, from Chester, Pa., established himself nationally this season as the only freshman among the finalists for the USBWA's Oscar Robertson Player of the Year Award.

Evans was a unanimous choice in voting by USBWA members in all nine of the association's geographical districts for Freshman of the Year.

He was named to Conference USA's all-conference first team after leading nationally-ranked Memphis in scoring this season with a 16.9 per game average and in steals with 65. The Tigers are 33-3, riding a 27-game winning streak heading in to an NCAA West Regional Semifinal vs. Missouri on Thursday.

The USBWA began presenting a National Freshman of the Year in the 1988-89 season, when LSU's Chris Jackson was named the first winner of the award. Michael Beasley of Kansas State was the winner a year ago.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. For more information on the USBWA and its awards, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-421-0339.