Best Writing Contest winners announced

DALLAS (FWAA) – The results for the 30th Annual FWAA Best Writing Contest presented by collegepressbox include one writer who claimed a first place for a second straight year, one writer who had three awards and two first-time winners. 

Dave Wilson of won first place in Column after winning in Feature last year. Dennis Dodd of took first in Game Story and added two honorable mentions. Rich Scarcella of the Reading Eagle (Features) and Tom Shanahan of the TomShanahan Report (Enterprise) were first-time first-place winners.

Three other writers — Drew Davison, formerly of the Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Ryan McGee of and Chris Vannini of The Athletic — each claimed two awards.  

First-place winners will receive game balls from Big Game and collegepressbox.  Finishers 1-3 receive cash prizes and certificates. Honorable mentions receive certificates. The first-place entries are  displayed in The Fifth Down. Follow the links below to read those stories.

To read the first-place stories, visit The 5th Down.


  • First Place — Dennis Dodd, Michigan clinches College Football Playoff berth, giving Wolverines one more round to prove themselves
  • Second Place — James Crepea, The Oregonian
  • Third Place — Ivan Maisel,
  • Honorable Mention — Max Olson, The Athletic; Ryan McGee,; Matt Baker, Tampa Bay Times


  • First Place — Rich Scarcella, Reading Eagle: Adam Taliaferro’s walk at Beaver Stadium 20 years ago remains ‘truly special’
  • Second Place — David Ubben, The Athletic
  • Third Place — David Hale,
  • Honorable Mention — Steve Kornacki, The Kornacki Wolverine Report,; David Teel, Richmond Times-Dispatch; Dennis Dodd,


  • First Place — Dave Wilson, The history of college football conference lame ducks, and what it means for Texas and Oklahoma
  • Second Place — Mike Griffith, AJC-DawgNation
  • Third Place — Ryan McGee,
  • Honorable Mention — Drew Davison, Fort Worth Star-Telegram; Chris Vannini, The Athletic; Dennis Dodd,


  • First Place — Tom Shanahan, TomShanahan.Report: The 1962 Rose Bowl’s 60th anniversary: UCLA’s Black students and players stared down Bear Bryant with Jim Murray’s break from 1960s media customs
  • Second Place — Drew Davison, Fort Worth Star-Telegram
  • Third Place — Audrey Snyder, The Athletic
  • Honorable Mention — Chris Vannini, The Athletic; Brent Zwerneman, Houston Chronicle; Matt Fortuna and Pete Sampson, The Athletic