DALLAS (FWAA) Arizona State's Tim White is this week's nominee for the 2016 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award.

While growing up, White spent time sleeping in cars, homeless shelters and in other less-than-ideal environments across the Los Angeles and Las Vegas area, as his father worked a number of different jobs to support White and his eight brothers and sisters. White and his siblings would make a 16-mile round-trip walk to school each day, collecting aluminum cans along the way to earn additional income. After enduring these obstacles, White suffered a devastating loss when his only brother, Elwood, was killed by a deputy in 2012.

On the field, White is fifth in the Pac-12 in receptions (47), tied for eighth in receiving yards (573) and third in all-purpose yards (148.3 yards per game). The redshirt senior also has a three-year-old daughter named Brooklyn.

"It's really about accepting who I am," White told Bleacher Report this season about his upbringing. "I know that it can help a lot of people, because a lot of people have lived parts of my story. The hope is that if anything, it can help somebody else."

The 5-foot-11, 185-pound White is a member of the Sun Devils' track and field program, too. Before becoming a student-athlete at Arizona State, White won the U.S. Junior Outdoor Track and Field Championship with a leap of 54 feet, 1 inch in the triple jump. He also won the silver medal in the Pan American Junior Athletics Championships in Medellin, Colombia, with a 16.49 meter jump (would have placed him 12th in the 2012 London Olympics).

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).

About the Orange Bowl
The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 30, 2016. For more information on the 2016-17 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to Follow Orange Bowl: @OrangeBowl, Facebook and Instagram.

Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football.
The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key
executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas
that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team.
For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson

Editor's note: To download a print-quality photo of Tim White, click on the photo within the release. 

2016 Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees

Sept. 14: James Conner, Pittsburgh
Sept. 21: Caylin Moore, TCU
Sept. 28: Riley Sorenson, Washington State

· Oct. 5: Vincent Taylor, Oklahoma State

· Oct. 12: Frank Ragnow, Arkansas
Oct. 19: Mulbah Car, Houston
Oct. 26: Makani Kema-Kaleiwahea, Hawaii
Nov. 2: Shaquem Griffin, UCF
Nov. 9: Tim White, Arizona State
Nov. 16: Adam Ploudre, Missouri
Nov. 23: Mike Sherels, Minnesota
Dec. 1: Quinton Flowers, USF

Related link:
One Orange Bowl Courage Award