DALLAS (FWAA) J.T. Barrett threw three touchdown passes and ran for two more scores as the Ohio State Buckeyes (8-1) handed Michigan State its first conference loss since 2012, winning in East Lansing, 49-37, to earn the Big Game National Team of the Week honor for games of the weekend of Nov. 8.

The announcement came exclusively on SiriusXM Radio's "College Sports Today," hosted by
Mark Packer and Eddie George.

Barrett went 16-of-26 for 300 yards and led the Buckeyes for 568 total yards.
Ohio States first drive of the game ended in a missed field goal and penalties
wiped out another early drive. Other than that pair, the Buckeyes scored
touchdowns every time they had the ball until punting in the final minute.

Michigan State led 21-14 before two long touchdown passes put Ohio State
ahead for good, the second a 44-yarder from Barrett to Devin Smith for a 28-21
Ohio State lead with 56 seconds left in the half.

"This is one for the ages," said Ohio State Coach Urban Meyer after the game.
"That's how much respect we had for our opponent going into it. We played a
top-10 team and really played our best on the road."

Other Big Game National Team of the Week nominees for the weekend of Nov. 8:

Arizona State (8-1): The Sun Devils   rolled past Notre Dame, 55-31, in scoring the most points   allowed by the Fighting Irish since 1985. It was ASU·s first   win over a top-10 opponent since 2002. The Sun Devils   intercepted four passes, forced two fumbles and recorded   seven sacks on the afternoon.

Baylor (8-1): Corey Coleman set career   highs of 15 catches and 224 yards as the Bears hammered   Oklahoma, 48-14. Bryce Petty completed 32-of-42 passes for   387 yards and a touchdown. It was Baylor·s first win in   Norman, and its first road win against a ranked opponent in   coach Art Briles' tenure. Baylor has now won three of the   past four meetings against Oklahoma after losing the first   20.

TCU (8-1): Trevone Boykin ran for   three touchdowns and threw for 219 yards and another score   as the Horned Frogs moved atop the Big 12 with a 41-20 win   over Kansas State. Boykin·s 123 rushing yards were a career   high. Aaron Green, filling in for an injured B.J. Catalon,   ran 18 times for 171 yards and a touchdown for the Frogs.

The Football Writers Association of America has named a national team of the week since the 2002 season. This is the first season The Big Game Football Factory has presented the award. Members of the FWAA All-America Committee decide the weekly honor. Each remaining Monday during the 2014 college football regular season, the FWAA will name a National Team of the Week.

Big Game USA is the largest American-owned football factory. Nearly half of all Football Bowl Subdivision programs play with a ball made by Big Game USA. This season, Big Game has introduced gametag, the latest development in football technology. It allows fans an opportunity to own a piece of football memorabilia, but more than that, gametag· offers complete authentication. Currently, four Division I schools (Mississippi State, Navy, Nebraska and Texas A&M) use balls equipped with gametag·. For more information about Big Game USA, visit biggameusa.com or contact Josh Eells at 972-292-0700 or jeells@biggameusa.com.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization
founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,400 men and women who cover college football.
The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key
executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas
that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For
more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson
at tiger@fwaa.com or 214-870-6516.