LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (FWAA) Iowa offensive tackle Brandon Scherff accepted the 69th Outland Trophy as the nation's best interior lineman during The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday night at the Disney Boardwalk.

Scherff, a 6-5, 320-pound senior, became the fourth Hawkeye to win the Outland Trophy after Calvin Jones (1955), Alex Karras (1957) and Robert Gallery (2003). Only players from Nebraska (eight different ones, nine total) and Oklahoma (five) have won more Outland Trophies than Iowa, with Ohio State players also claiming four.

"I am honored to be part of this," Scherff said. "Family members, coaches and teammates pushed me to be the best I could be. It was a goal to become the best lineman in the country. All that hard work. It's hard to believe it. It just shows you it can pay off."

Also in the audience at the Dance Hall were Auburn center Russ Dismukes and Texas defensive tackle Malcom Brown, the other two 2014 Outland finalists. Former Pittsburgh offensive lineman and ESPN college football analyst Mark May, the 1980 Outland Trophy winner, made the on-stage presentation to Scherff, the fourth offensive tackle in the last five years to win the award.

Going into Iowa's Taxslayer Bowl game against Tennessee on Jan. 2, Scherff has started 25 straight games for the Hawkeyes. In all he has played in 43 games and started 35 of them. He has been a strong leader in all four seasons that he has played in Iowa City. Iowa, 7-5, ranks 68th in scoring offense (28.3 ppg) and 66th in total offense (398.3 ypg). At left tackle, he has been rock solid this season for the Hawkeyes who have traditionally produced good offensive linemen.

"Brandon came back for his senior year with a mission to prove, and I think he has done that," said Iowa head coach Kirk Ferentz, who was also the Hawkeyes' head coach when Gallery claimed the honor. "From a leadership standpoint, having a guy play at an NFL level on a college playing field has been important to our football team. The toughness he brings, the attention to detail, the physical nature of his play, he's pretty special . At the end of the day it is all on the tape. The tape doesn't lie, he is the best.

"His enjoyment is evident in his approach and how he plays every day. The way he plays in every practice, in games, the way he prepares, the way he trains; if you don't think this guy is enjoying himself, you're probably not paying attention."

Scherff, an all-sports star from Denison, Iowa, a town of a little more than 8,000 people in the western part of the state, actually played quarterback in the lower grades and at the beginning of his high school career. He finally switched to tight end mid way through his junior year and then to the offensive line his senior season in preparation to go to Iowa.

"I didn't come back for my senior year because of the Outland," said Scherff, who notes Denison is also the hometown of the late Academy Award-winning actress Donna Reed. "But I started thinking about it toward the end of the season."

There's a tie among Scherff, Gallery and also the 1987 Outland Trophy winner, Chad Hennings from Air Force. They are the only three native Iowans to win the Outland. And they have all been coached by Reese Morgan, the current defensive line coach at Iowa and Hennings' former high school coach. Morgan recruited both Gallery and Scherff to Iowa and was previously the Hawkeyes' offensive line coach.

"I'd say I have no regrets at all," said Scherff, about coming back for his senior season. "I play smarter, faster. And obviously you get more time to study film and just go out and play football."

The Outland Trophy, which has been awarded annually by the FWAA since 1946, is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Pennsylvania in the late 1800s. It is the third oldest player award in major-college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award.

For the 18th consecutive year, the presentation banquet of the Outland Trophy will occur in Omaha on Jan. 15, 2015, at a banquet sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee. At the same banquet, Notre Dame's Ross Browner, the 1976 winner, will receive an Outland Trophy. The Downtown Omaha Rotary Club has provided trophies to Outland winners prior to 1988, the year the FWAA began giving out the trophy.

The first Tom Osborne Legacy Award will also be presented at the dinner. Osborne, the legendary former Nebraska coach, will hand the award off to Milt Tenopir, who coached six Outland winners with the Cornhuskers. The Osborne Legacy Award will recognize a coach or player who made contributions to the Outland Trophy or interior line play in college football; or a former lineman who made great contributions to the game through charity or community work.

The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast nearly 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game day operations, major awards and its annual All- America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 214-870-6516.

The Greater Omaha Sports Committee, founded in 1977, is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization, consisting of more than 300 men and women from the City of Omaha and the State of Nebraska. The membership serves to communicate, develop, initiate and promote sports activities in the Greater Omaha sports area.

Related links:
2014 Outland Trophy Finalists
· 2014 Outland Trophy Semifinalists
· 2014 Preseason Outland Trophy Watch List
· All-time Outland Trophy winners
· Outland Trophy official site (