DALLAS (FWAA) Louisville defensive end Lorenzo Mauldin is the seventh weekly nominee for the 2014 Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award.

Mauldin, a 6-4, 252-pound senior from Atlanta (Maynard Jackson), is playing like a potential All-American this season. He has 35 tackles (27 unassisted) through the first eight games. Of those tackles 11.5 are for losses (minus-47 yards), including six sacks for minus-36 yards. He has broken up two passes, hurried the quarterback on seven other passes, and forced a fumble.

But Mauldin, because of a broken home where neither his father nor mother could take care of him, has had a tough road to his present days as a college football star. He was in several foster homes during his younger days 16 to be exact · according to a 2012 article on WDRB.com.

He originally was headed to South Carolina, but ran into an academic snafu getting into the Southeastern Conference school. He eventually wound up at Louisville, where he found a stable environment under coach Charlie Strong, then the Cardinals' head man.

"I look at the team as if they were my brothers and sisters," Mauldin told WDRB.com. "I feel in place when I have a family environment around because I feel like I'm wanted. I feel like I need to help out this and that. It's a heartwarming situation for me."

The Courage Award was first presented by the FWAA in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the FWAA's Courage Award are San José State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jos State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 31, 2014. Other Orange Bowl core events include the MetroPCS Orange Bowl Basketball Classic, Orange Bowl Youth Football Alliance presented by Sports Authority, Orange Bowl International Tennis Championships, Orange Bowl International Youth Regatta, Orange Bowl Swim Classic and Orange Bowl Paddle Championships. For more information on the 2014-15 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to www.orangebowl.org.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com or 214-870-6516.

2014 Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees

Sept. 17: Deon Hill, Georgia Tech
Sept. 24: Ian Frye, Virginia
Oct. 1: Zack Golditch, Colorado State
Oct. 8: Josh Clemons, Kentucky
Oct. 15: Shon Coleman, Auburn
Oct. 22: Rori Blair, Pittsburgh
Oct. 29: Lorenzo Mauldin, Louisville
Nov. 5: Laken Tomlinson, Duke
Nov. 12: Kyle McCarthy, Notre Dame
Nov. 19: Jarvis Byrd, N.C. State

Related link:
Bowl Courage Award