ORLANDO, Fla. (FWAA) Offensive tackle Jammal Brown on
Thursday night became the fifth Oklahoma Sooner to win the Outland Trophy
as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show from
Disney World.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded annually by the Football Writers
Association of America since 1946. The award goes to the best interior lineman
in the country on offense or defense.

Brown, a 6-6, 312-pound senior, has had the duties this season of protecting
or opening holes for two Heisman Trophy candidates, freshman running back
Adrian Peterson and senior quarterback Jason White.

Brown basically has been flawless in execution, allowing no sacks, no
hurries and no quarterback hits. He leads the Sooners with more than 100
knockdown blocks.

"Jammal is as deserving of the Outland Trophy as any player we've had
nominated for any award," Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops said. "His performance
has been dominating. And there is no question in my mind that he deserves
equal consideration with any of our offensive players for the way that unit
has played this year. We sit in the film room and are amazed at what he

The other two 2004 Outland finalists were Michigan guard/center David
Baas and Florida State offensive tackle Alex Barron.

Oklahoma has had four previous Outland Trophy winners, the most recent
one being Greg Roberts in 1978. Other Oklahoma Outland Trophy winners are
Lee Roy Selmon (1975), J.D. Roberts (1953) and Jim Weatherall (1951).

The only school with more Outland winners is Nebraska with seven different
winners, including the only double winner, center Dave Rimington in 1981
and '82. Oklahoma was tied with Ohio State for second with four Outland
Trophy winners in its history before Brown won.

The official award presentation will be Jan. 13 in Omaha, Neb., at a
banquet sponsored by the Omaha Sports Committee and First Data Corporation.
Former Army lineman Joe Steffy, the second Outland Trophy winner in 1947,
is expected to receive his trophy there.

The FWAA presented plaques to the winners before 1989, although a succession
of former winners such as Steffy have received their trophies in recent

The Outland Trophy is named after the late John Outland, a lineman at
the University of Pennsylvania at the turn of the century. Outland garnered
consensus All-America honors in 1898 at tackle and at back in 1899. Dr.
Outland was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2001.

Last year's winner, Iowa offensive tackle Robert Gallery, was picked
second overall in the 2004 NFL Draft by the Oakland Raiders.

For more information about the FWAA and its awards, go to the association's
official website, www.footballwriters.com.

Related links:

Outland Trophy
official site

· FWAA names 2004 Outland Trophy finalists

· Previous Outland Trophy Winners