Best Writing Contest

FWAA Best Writing Contest

The FWAA's annual Best Writing Contest now stretches over 30 years and has become one of the organziation's institutions. Each year, winners are awarded if four categories and then a Beat Writer of the Year is named in honor of Steve Ellis. Cash prizes and commemorative footballs from The Big Game are among the prizes awarded to the winners each year of the contest presented by collegepressbox.



  • First Place — Dennis Dodd, Michigan clinches College Football Playoff berth, giving Wolverines one more round to prove themselves
  • Second Place — James Crepea, The Oregonian
  • Third Place — Ivan Maisel,
  • Honorable Mention — Max Olson, The Athletic; Ryan McGee,; Matt Baker, Tampa Bay Times


  • First Place — Rich Scarcella, Reading Eagle: Adam Taliaferro’s walk at Beaver Stadium 20 years ago remains ‘truly special’
  • Second Place — David Ubben, The Athletic
  • Third Place — David Hale,
  • Honorable Mention — Steve Kornacki, The Kornacki Wolverine Report,; David Teel, Richmond Times-Dispatch; Dennis Dodd,


  • First Place — Dave Wilson, The history of college football conference lame ducks, and what it means for Texas and Oklahoma
  • Second Place — Mike Griffith, AJC-DawgNation
  • Third Place — Ryan McGee,
  • Honorable Mention — Drew Davison, Fort Worth Star-Telegram; Chris Vannini, The Athletic; Dennis Dodd,


  • First Place — Tom Shanahan, TomShanahan.Report: The 1962 Rose Bowl’s 60th anniversary: UCLA’s Black students and players stared down Bear Bryant with Jim Murray’s break from 1960s media customs
  • Second Place — Drew Davison, Fort Worth Star-Telegram
  • Third Place — Audrey Snyder, The Athletic
  • Honorable Mention — Chris Vannini, The Athletic; Brent Zwerneman, Houston Chronicle; Matt Fortuna and Pete Sampson, The Athletic