Feb. 23, 2016
For Immediate Release
Contact: Jeff Bernstein
Association continues to honor Div. III standouts
Bookmark and Share  

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) Luke Lattner of DePauw University (Greencastle, Ind.) and Lisa Murphy of Carnegie Mellon University (Pittsburgh, Pa.) were named the U.S. Basketball Writers Association Division III National Players of the Week for the week ending Feb. 21.

Lattner, a 6-1 junior guard from Hinsdale, Ill., scored a career-high 55 points in DePauw's 114-110 triple overtime win over Wabash College (13-11, 7-10) in a North Coast Athletic Conference (NCAC) game on Thursday. He also added 10 rebounds (his first career double-double), three assists and a steal while playing all 55 minutes. Lattner's 55 points (19-for-37 FG, 4-for-11 3FG, 13-for-17 FT) and field goals set new DePauw single-game school records. The point total also set a NCAC record and is the third-highest in NCAA Division III this season. The Tigers wrapped up their season with an 8-17 overall record and a 4-14 mark in the NCAC.

Murphy, a 6-1 junior center/forward from McLean, Va., averaged 29.5 points, 13.0 rebounds and 3.5 blocks in 39.5 minutes per game as the Tartans won both of their matchups. She shot 68.8 percent (11-for-16 in each game) from the floor and 83.3 percent from the foul line (15-for-18) as Carnegie Mellon (18-6, 7-6) of the University Athletic Association (UAA) defeated Emory University (13-11, 4-9) and No. 12 (D3hoops.com) University of Rochester (19-5, 9-4). On Friday, she tallied 32 points, nine rebounds, three assists, two blocks, and a steal in the Tartans' 70-62 win over Emory. Murphy finished with 27 points, 17 rebounds, five blocks, and a steal in a 95-89 victory over the Yellowjackets on Sunday.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and its award programs, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.

2015-16 USBWA Division III National Players of the Week
Week ending Dec. 6: Jordan Rezendes, UMass Dartmouth and Lisa Murphy, Carnegie Mellon
Week ending Dec. 13: Connor Green, Amherst and TiChina Mitchell, La Roche
Week ending Dec. 20: David Linane, John Carroll and Alexix Roman, Scranton
Week ending Jan. 3: Tom Palleschi, Tufts and Jordan Holmes, Denison
Week ending Jan. 10: Tyheim Monroe, Cabrini and Michela North, Tufts
Week ending Jan. 17: Jamie Nikitas, Lawrence University and Katelyn Spahar, John Carroll
Week ending Jan. 24: Lucas Johnson, Benedictine and Jillian Gilman, Daniel Webster
Week ending Jan. 31: Jordan Rezendes, UMass Dartmouth and Kelsey Tietje, Defiance
Week ending Feb. 7: Ty Sabin, Ripon and Holly Denfeld, Milwaukee School of Engineering
Week ending Feb. 14: Josh Berard, University of the Ozarks and Sydney Moss, Thomas More
Week ending Feb. 21: Luke Lattner, DePauw and Lisa Murphy, Carngie Mellon
Week ending Feb. 28: David Meurer, Denison and Caroline Naumann, Lynchburg