Football Writers Association of America Oct. 24, 2017
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Tigers claim back-to-back weekly honors
Bookmark and Share  

DALLAS (FWAA) Memphis cornerback TJ Carter forced turnovers on Houston's last two drives including an interception in Tigers' territory to kill a last-minute rally in a come-from-behind 42-38 win that put Memphis in the lead in the American Athletic Conference West Division. For his performance which included a career-high 14 tackles Carter has been named the FWAA/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week for the week of Oct. 21.


The takeaways by Carter, a 5-11, 180-pound freshman from Nashville, Tenn., were the final pieces of a dramatic win. The Tigers had already come back from deficits of 17-0 at halftime and 31-14 in the third quarter to lead for the first time at 42-38 with just under two minutes left. Carter then forced a fumble that gave Memphis the ball at midfield with 59 seconds left. His game-clinching play at the Memphis 39-yard line was his fourth interception of the season.

Of Carter's 14 tackles, 11 of them were solo and one was for a loss. For the season, Carter now leads Memphis with four interceptions and is fourth on the team with 44 tackles. His two fumble recoveries also lead the Tigers.

Last week, Memphis linebacker Austin Hall was the Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week, so this marks the first time teammates have been named back-to-back recipients in the history of the award, dating to the 2001 season.

Each Tuesday during the regular season, the FWAA has selected a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week since 2001. Carter will be added to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Wed., Nov. 15. The winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2017 FWAA All-America Team.

The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's entire membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Bronko Nagurski Trophy finalists. The committee members then select the winner as the best defensive player in college football.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet, presented by ACN, will be held on Mon., Dec. 4 at the Charlotte Convention Center. In addition to the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner's announcement, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, sponsored by the CTC and Florida East Coast Railway.

The FWAA has chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football then became a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw "Bronko" Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Visit to learn more about our story.

The Football Writers Association of America, founded in 1941, consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at


The Bronko Nagurski TrophyThe Charlotte Touchdown Club is a non-profit organization founded in 1991 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C., region. The club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. Since 1991, the club has raised more than $2,000,000 to benefit area high school and collegiate athletics. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is

ACN, Inc.
Founded in 1993, ACN is the world's largest direct seller of telecommunications, energy and essential services for residential and business customers. ACN provides the services people need and use every day including phone service, high-speed internet, wireless, television, security and automation, computer support, payment processing and natural gas and electricity. ACN operates in 25 countries with offices located throughout North America, Europe, Latin America, Asia and the Pacific. For more information, visit For information on ACN's home-based business opportunity, visit

Florida East Coast Railway
FECR is a regional freight railroad that extends along a 351-mile corridor between Jacksonville, Fla., and Miami, Fla., with exclusive rail access to the Port of Palm Beach, Port Everglades (Ft. Lauderdale) and the Port of Miami. For more information, visit

Electrolux is a global leader in appliances for household and professional use, selling more than 50 million products to customers in more than 150 countries every year. The company focuses on innovations that are thoughtfully designed, based on extensive consumer insight, to meet the real needs of consumers and professionals. Electrolux products include refrigerators, dishwashers, washing machines, vacuum cleaners, cookers and air-conditioners sold under esteemed brands such as Electrolux, Frigidaire, Kelvinator, AEG, and Eureka. In 2012, Electrolux had sales of $17 billion ($5.1 billion in North America) and 58,000 employees. The Electrolux North American headquarters is located at 10200 David Taylor Drive, Charlotte, NC 28262 in the University Research Park. For more information visit

2017 Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Players of the Week
Weekend of Sept. 2: Jordan Wyatt, SMU
Weekend of Sept. 9: Austin Bryant, Clemson
Weekend of Sept. 16: Kameron Kelly, San Diego State
Weekend of Sept. 23: Josey Jewell, Iowa
Weekend of Sept. 30: Dorian O'Daniel, Clemson
Weekend of Oct. 7: Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
Weekend of Oct. 14: Austin Hall, Memphis
Weekend of Oct. 21: TJ Carter, Memphis
Weekend of Oct. 28: Paddy Fisher, Northwestern
Weekend of Nov. 4: Khaleke Hudson, Michigan

Related link:
Bronko Nagurski Trophy (All-Time Winners, Finalists and Players of the Week)