Football Writers Association of America Oct. 20, 2009
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Junior end helps trigger upset of No. 7 Ohio State Bookmark and Share

DALLAS (FWAA) Purdue end Ryan Kerrigan has been named the FWAA/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week for games of the weekend of Oct. 17.


Kerrigan, a 6-4, 263-pound junior from Muncie, Ind., had a team-high nine tackles, four tackles for loss, three sacks, two forced fumbles and a fumble recovery in Purdue's stunning 26-18 upset victory over No. 7 Ohio State.

On the third play of the game, Kerrigan took the ball from the Buckeyes' quarterback. In the second quarter, he posted a 21-yard sack, knocking the ball free again and recovering it. Kerrigan's tackles for loss resulted in minus-37 yards for the bewildered Ohio State offense.

Kerrigan will be added to the 2009 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List. The Bronko Nagurski Trophy will be presented to the best defensive player in college football on Dec. 7 by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Five finalists for the Nagurski Trophy will be announced on Nov. 18 or 19.

Each week during the 2009 season the FWAA All-America Committee will select a national defensive player of the week from nominations made by the 11 Division I Bowl Subdivision Conferences and major independents.

Last season, Texas end Brian Orakpo won the coveted Bronko Nagurski Trophy during the 14th season the FWAA amed a national defensive player of the year.

The Bronko Nagurski TrophyThe Charlotte Touchdown Club is a non-profit organization founded in 1990 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C., region. The club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,100 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 972-713-6198.

2009 Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Players of the Week
Sept. 5: B.W. Webb, William & Mary
Sept. 12: Nate Triplett, Minnesota
Sept. 19: Donald Butler, Washington
Sept. 26: Pat Angerer, Iowa
Oct. 3: Rolando McClain, Alabama
Oct. 10: Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska
Oct. 17: Ryan Kerrigan, Purdue
Oct. 24: DeAndre McDaniel, Clemson
Oct. 31: Jared Crick, Nebraska
Nov. 7: Matt O'Hanlon, Nebraska