Football Writers Association of America May 18, 2009
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Group also selects Outland, Nagurski Trophy winners Bookmark and Share

DALLAS (FWAA) The Football Writers Association of America announces its 2009 All-America Committee, which selects the 25-man All-America Team and the winners of the Bronko Nagurski and Outland trophies. This spring, the committee will help select the FWAA All-America Watch List and the watch lists for both of the FWAA's major player awards.

The FWAA has chosen an All-America Team annually since the 1944 season. It is the second longest continuously-published team in major college football.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,100 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 972-713-6198.

John Davis Oxford (Miss.) Eagle Southeastern
Heather Dinich Atlantic Coast
Pete DiPrimio Fort Wayne (Ind.) News-Sentinel Big Ten
Dennis Dodd Independents
Ryan Finley Arizona Daily Star Pacific-10
Pete Fiutak College Football News National
Kevin Gorman Pittsburgh Tribune-Review Big East
Anthony Hanshew The Herald-Dispatch (Huntington, W. Va.) Conference USA
Dave Matter Columbia (Mo.) Daily Tribune Big 12
Mick McGrane San Diego Union-Tribune Mountain West
Rodney McKissic Buffalo News Mid-American
Adam Sparks Daily News Journal (Murfreesboro, Tenn.) Sun Belt
Phil Steele Phil Steele Publications National
Jimmy Watson Shreveport Times Western Athletic

Related link:
FWAA All-America Team