USBWA unveils 2022-23 men's All-District honors

Houston’s Marcus Sasser and coach Kelvin Sampson swept District VII honors.
Houston’s Marcus Sasser and coach Kelvin Sampson swept District VII honors.

INDIANAPOLIS (USBWA) – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has released its 2022-23 Men's All-District Teams, based on voting from its national membership. The USBWA has selected All-District teams since the 1956-57 season, its founding year.

For each of the nine geographic districts, ten players are selected as well as a player and coach of the year. Two schools – Houston (Marcus Sasser and coach Kelvin Sampson) and Purdue (Zach Edey and coach Matt Painter) – earned both the Player of the Year and Coach of the Year honors.

Twenty-three Division I conferences are represented among the 90 players honored by the USBWA with the Big Ten and SEC leading all conferences with 11 All-District players. The Big 12 has 10 selections featuring three Baylor teammates. Fourteen other schools – UConn, Gonzaga, Houston, Indiana, Kansas, Kansas State, NC State, New Mexico, Providence, Saint Mary's, Tennessee, UCLA, Utah State and Utah Valley – also have teammates who have been lauded by the USBWA.

The USBWA will release its 2022-23 men's and women's All-America teams tomorrow at 3 p.m. ET.

Following are the complete 2022-23 USBWA All-District honors:

Maine, Vt., N.H., R.I., Mass., Conn.
Player of the Year: Adama Sanogo, UConn
Coach of the Year: Ed Cooley, Providence

All-District Team
Devin Carter, Providence
Sherif Gross-Bullock, Bryant
Jordan Hawkins, UConn
Bryce Hopkins, Providence
Chris Ledlum, Harvard
Kino Lilly Jr., Brown
Jordan Minor, Merrimack
Dylan Penn, Vermont
Quinten Post, Boston College
Adama Sanogo, UConn

N.Y., N.J., Del., D.C., Pa., W. Va.
Player of the Year: Jalen Pickett, Penn State
Coach of the Year: Jeff Capel, Pitt

All-District Team
Walter Clayton Jr., Iona
Jordan Dingle, Penn
Eric Dixon, Villanova 
Aaron Estrada, Hofstra
Taevion Kinsey, Marshall
Jameer Nelson Jr., Delaware
Clifford Omoruyi, Rutgers
Jalen Pickett, Penn State
Joel Soriano, St. John's
Erik Stevenson, West Virginia

Va., N.C., S.C., Md.
Player of the Year: Tyree Appleby, Wake Forest
Coach of the Year: Pat Kelsey, College of Charleston 

All-District Team
Tyree Appleby, Wake Forest
Armando Bacot, North Carolina
Reece Beekman, Virginia
Kyle Filipowski, Duke
Jarkel Joiner, NC State
Darius McGhee, Liberty 
Hunter Tyson, Clemson
Drew Pember, UNC Asheville
Terquavion Smith, NC State
Jahmir Young, Maryland

Ky., Tenn., Miss., Ala., Ga., Fla.
Player of the Year: Brandon Miller, Alabama
Coach of the Year: Dusty May, Florida Atlantic

All-District Team
Johni Broome, Auburn
Colin Castleton, Florida
Kendric Davis, Memphis
Brandon Miller, Alabama
Liam Robbins, Vanderbilt
Tolu Smith, Mississippi State
Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky 
Santiago Vescovi, Tennessee
Isaiah Wong, Miami
Zakai Zeigler, Tennessee

Ohio, Ind., Ill., Mich., Minn., Wis.
Player of the Year: Zach Edey, Purdue
Coach of the Year: Matt Painter, Purdue

All-District Team
Souley Boum, Xavier
Boo Buie, Northwestern
Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy
Zach Edey, Purdue
Hunter Dickinson, Michigan
Jalen Hood-Schifino, Indiana
Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana 
Tyler Kolek, Marquette
Terrence Shannon Jr., Illinois
Tyson Walker, Michigan State

Iowa, Mo., Kan., Okla., Neb., N.D., S.D.
Player of the Year: Jalen Wilson, Kansas
Coach of the Year: Jerome Tang, Kansas State

All-District Team
Max Abmas, Oral Roberts 
Kobe Brown, Missouri
Tucker DeVries, Drake
Gradey Dick, Kansas
Keyontae Johnson, Kansas State
Ryan Kalkbrenner, Creighton
Kris Murray, Iowa 
Grant Nelson, North Dakota State 
Markquis Newell, Kansas State
Jalen Wilson, Kansas

Texas, Ark., La.
Player of the Year: Marcus Sasser, Houston
Coach of the Year: Kelvin Sampson, Houston

All-District Team
Marcus Carr, Texas
Ricky Council IV, Arkansas
L.J. Cryer, Baylor
Adam Flagler, Baylor
Keyonte George, Baylor
Mike Miles, TCU
Quincy Olivari, Rice
Marcus Sasser, Houston
Jamal Shead, Houston
Wade Taylor IV, Texas A&M

Wyo., Utah, Idaho, N.M., Colo., Nev., Mont.
Player of the Year: Steven Ashworth, Utah State
Coach of the Year: Mark Madsen, Utah Valley

All-District Team
Steven Ashworth, Utah State
Aziz Bandaogo, Utah Valley
RaeQuan Battle, Montana State
Le’Tre Darthard, Utah Valley
E.J. Harkless, UNLV
Taylor Funk, Utah State
Jaelen House, New Mexico
Dillon Jones, Weber State
Dalton Knecht, Northern Colorado
Jamal Mashburn Jr., New Mexico

Calif., Ore., Wash., Hawaii, Ariz., Alaska
Player of the Year: Jaime Jaquez Jr., UCLA
Coach of the Year: Randy Bennett, St. Mary's

All-District Team
Tyger Campbell, UCLA
Boogie Ellis, USC 
Jaime Jaquez Jr., UCLA
Logan Johnson, Saint Mary's 
Aidan Mahaney, Saint Mary's
Brandin Podziemski, Santa Clara
Cam Shelton, Loyola Marymount
Julian Strawther, Gonzaga
Drew Timme, Gonzaga
Azuolas Tubelis, Arizona

Selections by conference: Big Ten 11, SEC 11, Big 12 10, ACC 9, Big East 9, West Coast 6, Mountain West 5, Pac-12 4, American Athletic 3, Big Sky 3, Ivy League 3, America East 2, Colonial 2, Summit League 2, WAC 2, ASUN 1, Big South 1, Conference USA 1, Horizon League 1, Metro Atlantic Athletic 1, Missouri Valley 1, Northeast 1, Sun Belt 1.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. For more information on the USBWA and its All-District teams, contact executive director Malcolm Moran at 814-574-1485.