ST. LOUIS (USBWA) The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has named five outstanding first-year players to a watch list for the 2011-12 Women's National Freshman of the Year award.

The announcement of the winner will come at the annual USBWA breakfast at the NCAA Women's Final Four on Tues., April 3, in Denver. The event is open to all credentialed Final Four media with limited availability to others interested in attending the event.

The quintet includes Duke forward Elizabeth Williams (Virginia Beach, Va.), who helped lead the Blue Devils to a regular-season first-place finish in the Atlantic Coast Conference while Kentucky guard Bria Goss (Indianapolis, Ind.) did likewise with the Wildcats in the Southeastern Conference.

The other three candidates are Connecticut forward Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (Anaheim Hills, Calif.), who helped keep the Huskies in the Top Five of the Associated Press women's poll all season to date; Tennessee point guard Ariel Massengale (Boling Brook, Ill.), and Oklahoma State forward Liz Donohoe (Edmond, Okla.), one of the top newcomers in the Big 12.

Although these five newcomers have been selected for the watch list, all freshmen remain eligible to earn the tenth annual award when balloting by the entire membership begins next Monday.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected a women's All-America team since the 1996-97 season. For more information on the USBWA and its award programs, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-444-4300.

Related link:
All-time USBWA women's honors