ST. LOUIS (USBWA) The U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced today its 2005-06 women's postseason honors. North Carolina's Ivory Latta and Sylvia Hatchell are the association's National Player and Coach of the Year. It's the eighth time since the USBWA started naming both a coach and player of the year in 1989-90 that both honorees have come from the same school.

Oklahoma's Courtney Paris was chosen as the USBWA's Freshman of the Year.

Following is the complete list of 2005-06 USBWA women's honors:

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association, formed in 1956, has named a women's All-America team since the 1996-97 season. The association has also named a national player of the year since 1987-88 and a national coach of the year since 1989-90. In 2002-03, the USBWA initiated an award for the nation's top freshman. For more information about the USBWA and its annual awards, contact Executive Director Joe Mitch in the Missouri Valley Conference office at 314-421-0339.

Related link:
All-Time USBWA women's honors