ST. LOUIS (USBWA) Saint Joseph·s Phil Martelli was named
coach of the year and Jameer Nelson player of the year Tuesday by
the United States Basketball Writers Association.

Martelli was chosen by the USBWA as winner of the Henry Iba Coach
of the Year Award
and Nelson was selected as recipient of the Oscar
Robertson Trophy
as the nations top college player.

Martelli guided Saint Josephs to a 27-1 regular season record and a
No. 1 seed in the East Rutherford Region of the 2004 NCAA tournament. Nelson,
a senior guard for the Hawks, led the team in scoring with a 20.0 average
and assists with a 5.4 mark.

Nelson was also named to the USBWA all-America first team. Others selected
were Emeka Okafor, Connecticut; Lawrence Roberts, Mississippi State; Ryan
Gomes, Providence; and Andre Emmett, Texas Tech.

Named to the USBWA second team were Josh Childress, Stanford; Devin Harris,
Wisconsin; John Lucas, Oklahoma State; Julius Hodge, North Carolina State;
and Blake Stepp, Gonzaga.

Related Link:

2003-04 USBWA Men's All-District Teams