INDIANAPOLIS (USBWA) The U.S. Basketball Writers Association will honor the nation's top men's and women's players and coaches at the College Basketball Awards Dinner, hosted by the Missouri Athletic Club on Monday, April 11 in St. Louis.

The USBWA will present the Oscar Robertson Trophy to the men's player of the year; the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award to the women's player of the year; the Henry Iba Award to the men's coach of the year; the Women's Coach of the Year Award; the Wayman Tisdale Award to the men's freshman of the year; and the Tamika Catchings Award to the women's freshman of the year.

"The Missouri Athletic Club was the first to host this banquet celebration in 2005," said USBWA Executive Director Malcolm Moran. "We are excited to be in a partnership with the MAC and look forward to sharing this occasion with them."

The USBWA will present the women's freshman of the year and women's coach of the year for the first time at the MAC banquet to go with the other women's award and the three men's awards. Following a two-year absence due to COVID, the awards banquet returns to the Missouri Athletic Club this year.

"We appreciate our partnership with the USBWA and look forward to continuing to host the College Basketball Awards," said MAC Basketball Chairman Aaron Pawlitz. "Having the opportunity to recognize the accomplishments of the best in college basketball fits perfectly with the MAC's tradition of celebrating athletic excellence."

The Oscar Robertson Trophy honors arguably the greatest player in college basketball history. It is the only men's college basketball player of the year award named after a player. The Henry Iba Award recognizes the legendary Oklahoma A&M coach who won two national championships and two gold medals and one silver in the Olympics. Tisdale is the first freshman selected to the USBWA's All-America first team.

Meyers Drysdale, a four-time All-American at UCLA, became the first woman to sign an NBA contract. Catchings had a remarkable freshman season in which she led Tennessee to a perfect 39-0 record and the 1998 national championship. She is one of only five athletes in the world with four Olympic basketball gold medals.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and its award programs, contact executive director Malcolm Moran at 814-574-1485. For additional info about covering the awards banquet, contact Jim Wilson with the MAC (314-539-4488).