Navy's Adams brothers nominated for Orange Bowl Courage Award

DALLAS (FWAA) – Navy’s Terrell and Joshua Adams are this week’s nominees for the 2022 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award. The twin brothers lost both their mother and their grandmother in consecutive days last season.

“I’m just glad they didn’t give up,” their father, Jerome Adams told the school’s official athletics website. “Losing your Mom one day, your grandmother the next, that would make a lot of people go and hide. I’m glad they didn’t.”

Michelle Adams died at the age of 46 on Sept. 29, 2021 after suffering from complications of COVID-19. She had tested positive one day after watching her sons play at home against Air Force on Sept. 11.

Joshua and Terrell AdamsRoughly 12 hours later, Sallie Mae Stitt — the twins’ grandmother and Jerome’s mother — died at the age of 70. She had also suffered complications from COVID-19.

The Adams brothers stayed home in Birmingham, Ala., through Oct. 7, the day they held a funeral service for both their mother and grandmother.

“Leaning on God has given us peace when our hearts are hurting,” Terrell Adams said. “I can’t go through a day without thinking about [our mother and grandmother]. I know Dad can’t.”

The seniors are considered leaders among their teammates despite most of their on-field contributions coming on special teams. Terrell Adams, a linebacker, has 30 career tackles, 1.5 tackles for loss and one pass defended for the Midshipmen. Joshua Adams, a bandit, has 8 career tackles and 0.5 tackles for loss.

Both players are on track to graduate in May. They are preparing to be commissioned as Second Lieutenants in the United States Marine Corps.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are the University of Utah football Team (2021), Arkansas State analyst Alex Charlton (2020), Arkansas State coach Blake Anderson (2019), SUNY Cortland linebacker Kyle Richard (2018), Wisconsin safety D'Cota Dixon (2017), Pitt running back James Conner (2016), Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).

About Orange Bowl
Orange Bowl is a 391-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl’s community outreach is embodied by the four pillars of its Orange Bowl Cares program: Youth Sports, Education, Community Engagement and Legacy Programs. Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the 2022 Capital One Orange Bowl on Dec. 30. For more information on the 2022 Orange Bowl events, including promotional inquiries and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to or follow @OrangeBowl on social media.

Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America consists of journalists, broadcasters, publicists, photographers and key executives in all areas of college football. The FWAA works to govern media access and gameday operations while presenting awards and honors, including an annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its programs and initiatives, contact Executive Director Steve Richardson at 214-870-6516 or

To submit a nomination for the Capital One Orange Bowl Courage Award, contact Matt Fortuna at