DALLAS (FWAA) Quarterback Josh Allen led a fourth-quarter touchdown drive plus a two-point conversion to tie the game, and the Wyoming Cowboys forced a safety with 1:25 left for the winning points in a 30-28 win over previously-unbeaten Boise State on Saturday. For beating a ranked team for the first time since 2002, and topping the Broncos for the first time in 11 all-time games, the Cowboys (6-2) have earned the Football Writers Association of America National Team of the Week honor for games of the weekend of Oct. 29.

The announcement was made on "Playbook," hosted by Chris Carlin and Gino Torretta on SiriusXM Radio's "College Sports Nation." Each Monday during the season, the FWAA National Team of the Week will be unveiled during the program, which airs from 1-4 p.m. ET.

Allen hit Tanner Gentry in the back of the end zone with 6:42 left, then dodged the Boise State rush and hit Jake Maulhardt for a two-point conversion for a 28-28 tie. Minutes later, punter Ethan Wood pinned Boise State at its own 10-yard line, his fourth punt inside the Broncos 20-yard line, that set up the decisive series. On second down, nose tackle Chase Appleby came free on a defensive line stunt and hit Boise State quarterback Brett Rypien, knocking the ball loose. The ball bounced out of the back of the end zone for a safety, and Wyoming took its first leadof the day.

"If a win could help define a program, this one did," Wyoming coach Craig Bohl said. "A lot of great plays and effort, and coming in we knew it was going to be down to a play here or there. It shows resolve and belief with our coaches and players. A lot of hard work went into this win, and its victory number six."

This is Wyomings first time to be selected as the FWAA National Team of the Week since the award's inception in the 2002 season.

The other National Team of the Week nominee for the weekend of Oct. 29 was:

Clemson (8-0): The Tigers shot out to   a 14-0 lead, gave up the lead in the fourth quarter, then   rallied with a late touchdown as Deshaun Watson hit tight   end Jordan Leggett in the end zone with 2:06 remaining for a   clutch 37-34 win at Florida State. It was Clemson·s first   win in Tallahassee since 2006, and only the Tigers· second   win at Doak Campbell Stadium since the Seminoles joined the   ACC in 1992. Watson threw for 378 yards and two touchdowns   and added 52 yards on the ground. Leggett had a career-best   122 receiving yards, the most in school history by a tight   end.

Texas (4-4): The Longhorns outlasted   previously-undefeated and top-10 ranked Baylor as Trent   Dominque kicked a 39-yard field goal with 46 seconds left.   Running back D·Onta Foreman turned in a landmark performance   with 250 yards rushing, becoming Texas· first 1,000-yard   rusher since Jamaal Charles in 2007. It was Foreman·s ninth   consecutive 100-yard game on the ground.

The Football Writers Association of America has named a national team of the week since the 2002 season. Members of the 12-person FWAA All-America Committee – plus one fan vote from Twitter – decide the weekly honor.

Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football.
The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key
executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas
that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team.
For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson
at tiger@fwaa.com.