FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Orange Bowl Committee November 8, 2012



Noah Sharfman nsharfman@orangebowl.org 305-341-4737

Auburn's Prosch Nominated for Discover Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award

DALLAS (FWAA) – Auburn's Jay Prosch is the weekly nominee for the 2012 Discover Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award, to be announced at the end of the season. Prosch, a junior fullback from Mobile, Ala., is playing this season after the death of his mother Sept. 3.

Prosch played two years at Illinois, but transferred to Auburn to be able to spend more time with his mother. Iris Prosch was diagnosed in 2011 with Grade 4 brain cancer. She told the Associated Press last spring, "There really aren't words to express how comforting it is" to have her son nearby.

Jay Prosch was granted a waiver by the NCAA to play immediately at Auburn. The day before the season opener, his mother slipped into a coma. He played against Clemson Sept. 1, then drove to Mobile, arriving in the early morning hours Sept. 2. He was with his mother when she died.

Prosch attended classes the next day, telling others his mother wouldn't want him missing studies or practice time. After a memorial service on Thursday, Sept. 6, he returned to Auburn in time to travel with the team to Starkville, Miss., to play Mississippi State. After the game, he told Al.com: "She was on my mind, but not in a bad way. In a good way."

Prosch has developed into a reliable short-yardage option for Auburn. He has five carries for 17 yards and four catches for 18 yards, and scored his first college touchdown last week against New Mexico State.

For the seventh straight year, the Football Writers Association of America and the Discover Orange Bowl will announce a weekly nominee each Wednesday during the season. A blue-ribbon panel will determine the winner from all of the nominees. The winner of the Discover Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award will be announced in December and be presented with the trophy during the week of the 2013 Discover BCS National Championship Game.

The Courage Award was created by ESPN The Magazine's senior writer Gene Wojciechowski, also an FWAA member. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship.

Previous winners of the FWAA's Courage Award are Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).

###

About the Orange Bowl

The Orange Bowl is a 348-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. The Orange Bowl Festival features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the Discover Orange Bowl on January 1, 2013 and the Discover BCS National Championship on January 7, 2013. Other Orange Bowl core events include the MetroPCS Orange Bowl Basketball Classic, Orange Bowl Youth Football Alliance presented by Sports Authority, Orange Bowl International Tennis Championships, Orange Bowl Sailing Regatta Series and Orange Bowl Paddle Championships. For more information on the 2012-13 Orange Bowl Festival and its events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program, log on to www.orangebowl.org.

The **Football Writers Association of America**, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com or 972-713-6198.

2012 Discover Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees

- Sept. 26: Daniel Rodriguez, Clemson
- Oct. 3: Angelo Richardson, Arizona State
- Oct. 10: Patience Beard, Arkansas
- Oct. 17: Neiron Ball, Florida
- Oct. 31: Dan Werner, Mississippi
- Nov. 8: Jay Prosch, Auburn