July 25, 2001 For Immediate Release **Contact:** Steve Richardson, Executive Director 972-713-6198, tigerfwaa@aol.com

## FWAA Top 25 unveiled in 2001 E-Guide

## Florida Gators to Smell the Roses in January

2001 FWAA Top 25	
1.	Florida 10-3
2.	Miami11-1
3.	Oklahoma 13-0
4.	Oregon10-2
5.	Texas 9-3
6.	Florida State11-2
7.	Oregon State11-1
8.	Tennessee 8-4
9.	Nebraska 10-2
10.	Virginia Tech11-1
11.	Washington11-1
12.	Clemson 9-3
13.	Georgia Tech 9-3
14.	Michigan 9-3
15.	UCLA 6-6
16.	Notre Dame 9-3
17.	South Carolina 8-4
18.	LSU 8-4
19.	Kansas State11-3
20.	Northwestern 8-4
21.	Colorado State10-2
22.	Illinois 5-6
23.	Georgia 8-4
24.	Mississippi State 8-4
25.	Marshall 8-5

**DALLAS (FWAA)** – The Florida Gators are the **Football Writers Association of America's** preseason choice to win the Rose Bowl and college football's national championship in 2001.

The FWAA's preseason Top 25 poll – released in conjunction with the organization's revolutionary interactive season guide on CD, **The 2001 E-Guide** – is voted on by a select panel of national writers and FWAA officers.

The 2001 E-Guide is an interactive multimedia college football preview and season guide on CD. It was produced in partnership with the members of FWAA and features a comprehensive season preview as well as interactive features, including narration and interviews with college football greats. The E-Guide and its season upgrades are available for free through the FWAA's official website, **www.footballwriters.com**.

Fellow Sunshine State teams Miami and Florida State join Florida among the top six. Defending national champion Oklahoma is among four Big 12 Conference teams in the poll. The Sooners are ranked 3rd. South division foe Texas is ranked 5th, while Nebraska (9th) and Kansas State (19th) represent the league's North division.

In addition to Florida, five other SEC schools have earned preseason recognition from the FWAA, the next highest-ranked being Tennessee at No. 8. The Pac-10, with two 11-1 teams a year ago, features four ranked teams, three of them among the top 11.

Defending conference champions Colorado State (Mountain West) and Marshall (Mid-American) help round out the Top 25. Among the ranked teams, only UCLA and Illinois finished the 2000 season at .500 or under.

At the conclusion of the season, the FWAA will, once again, reward the national champion with the **Grantland Rice Trophy**. The FWAA is celebrating its 60th anniversary this season and has awarded the Rice trophy each year since 1954.

Football Writers Association of America 18652 Vista del Sol • Dallas, TX 75287 • 972-713-6198