Football Writers Association of America News

Awards News The 5th Down All Articles

3rd And Long: The Old Goat Moves on to a New Pasture

Kirk Bohls Makes the Move of His Life

3rd And Long: The new-look college season for FWAA members

College football's summer pause, until a different kind of season.  

Introducing The Inside Zone, college football’s newest online community

Get a discount on a hot new product

Super 11 recipients announced for 2023 season

Two first-time winners and nine previous ones comprise the 15th Super 11 Awards, presented annually by the Football Writers Association of America to the best performing College Sports Communicators departments in the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision. The awards announced this week are for the 2023 season.

3rd And Long: CFB No Longer CFB

Aresco Heading to Retirement

Talley named 2024 Bronko Nagurski Legends Award winner

West Virginia Iinebacker Darryl Talley has been named the recipient of the 2024 Bronko Nagurski Legends Award and will be honored at the Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet on Dec. 9 at the Charlotte Convention Center.

3rd And Long: Pernetti Faces Huge Challenge

Introduction to new Blaudschun Column.

FWAA Accepting Edward Aschoff Rising Star Nominations

Time to Nominate for Rising Star Award

Missouri's Drinkwitz named keynote speaker for 2024 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Awards Dinner

The Charlotte Touchdown Club, in conjunction with the Football Writers Association of America, officially announced today that Eliah Drinkwitz, the Head Football Coach at the University of Missouri, will be its Keynote Speaker for the 2024 Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet on Dec 9.

Call for entries: Submit your work for the 32nd Annual FWAA Best Writing Contest

Entries for the 32nd FWAA Annual Best Writing Contest Open

Volney Meece Scholarship goes to Washington's Huffman

Huffman first state of Washington Winner

Chadwell claims third Steve Spurrier Award

Chadwell Wins Another FWAA Award

Arizona's Fifita, Purdue's Thieneman highlight 2023 FWAA Freshman All-America Team

In a crowded field of outstanding quarterbacks in the Pac-12 Conference this season, Arizona's Noah Fifita stood tall guiding the Wildcats into title contention and a 10-win season while rewriting his school’s record book. Purdue safety Dillon Thieneman was a national interceptions and tackles leader leaving his mark as one of the top playmaking defenders in the Big Ten Conference. For their dynamic play on both sides of the ball, the Football Writers Association of America awarded the pair as its Offensive and Defensive Freshman Players of the Year presented by Chris Doering Mortgage. Fifita and Thieneman headline the FWAA’s 2023 Freshman All-America Team, a list of 32 players who had standout seasons among their more experienced peers.

Bohls named 2024 Bert McGrane Award Recipient

Bohls a Texas Legend

Randy Peterson Claims FWAA Lifetime Achievement Award

FWAA Lifetime Achievement Award goes to Des Moines Register writer

Richt Selected as Steve Spurrier Legend

Second Legend Coach Award Named

Washington's DeBoer wins 2023 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award

Washington head coach Kalen DeBoer has been selected as the 2023 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year after leading the Huskies to the College Football Playoff, the most wins in program history, and the Pac-12 Championship. Washington has posted a perfect 13-0 record this year and owns the nation’s longest active win streak at 20 games. The Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award is presented by the Football Writers Association of America and the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Three Finalists Selected for Steve Spurrier First-Year Coach Award

Barry Odom, Jamey Chadwell and Jeff Brohm named Finalists for 2023 Spurrier Award

Virginia's Hollins wins 2023 Orange Bowl Courage Award

Virginia running back Mike Hollins is the 22nd annual recipient of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award. Hollins survived the 2022 shootings that took the lives of three of his UVA teammates and played in 11 games this fall for the Cavaliers, leading the team in rushing touchdowns.

Seven repeat honorees highlight 2023 FWAA All-America Team presented by the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic

The 2023 Football Writers Association of America All-America Team, presented in partnership with the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic, is highlighted by seven repeat All-Americans and a record 10 players from the four teams competing in the College Football Playoff at the front of players from 36 different schools. There are 22 schools represented from eight Football Bowl Subdivision conferences on the first team and all 10 conferences plus an Independent are included on the overall 54-man team.