Vol. 45, No. 1 November 2007 .pdf version
Andy Katz: There's help out there
Joe Mitch: Send us your nominations
Dick Jerardi: Nothing else like it
Steve Carp: No let-up between tip, buzzer
Ted Gangi: On the cutting edge
Working media members code of ethics

Joe Mitch

Send us your Hall of Fame and award nominations

By JOE MITCH / Executive Director

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association annually presents awards at the end of the season honoring individuals for their service to college basketball and sports journalism.

If you as a USBWA member have a person you wish to nominate, we encourage you to do so before the end of the year. Please send nominations either to me or President Andy Katz.

Here's a list of the USBWA awards:

HALL OF FAME: Established in 1988, the USBWA Hall of Fame honors past and present members who are recognized for their contributions to the organization and achievements in sports writing.

To be eligible for consideration, an individual must have 20 years of service in the profession.

The current number of inductees in the Hall of Fame is 49. Last year's inductee was Frank Boggs, a past president of the USBWA and former sportswriter for the Daily Oklahoman, Topeka Capital-Journal and Dallas Times-Herald and sports columnist for the Colorado Springs Sun.

MOST COURAGEOUS: Since 1978, the USBWA has honored individuals who wage courageous battles in the face of adversity and personal hardships.

Last year's recipient was the Duquesne men's program, which was rocked when five players were wounded during a shooting following a campus party in September 2006. Two eligible players who were shot missed the entire season.

Other award winners include Grant Dykstra, who overcame a farming accident that left one of his arms mangled as a child to become a standout player at Western Washington; Trey Schwab, a Marquette assistant who had a double-lung transplant; the Oklahoma State program following the plane crash that killed 10 members of the team; former Tulsa and Arkansas coach Nolan Richardson for dealing with racial prejudice in life and the death of his daughter from leukemia; and Tennessee Tech coach Mike Sutton, who has continued to coach while battling the paralyzing effects of Guillain-Barre Syndrome.

KATHA QUINN AWARD: This award is presented in memory of Katha Quinn, the late sports information director at St. John's University who died of cancer in 1990.

The award honors individuals for their service and contributions to the USBWA, especially those who have excelled at servicing the media and, like Katha, are an inspiration to those in the sports journalism profession.

I was fortunate enough to be given the award this past April and am indebted to the board and officers of the organization who chose to honor me.

Other past recipients include SIDs Tim Tolokan of Connecticut and Steve Kirschner and Rick Brewer of North Carolina; former NCAA media coordinators Bill Hancock and Jim Marchiony; Craig Miller of USA Basketball; and Washington Post sports writer Mark Asher.

February 2021
December 2020
June 2020
January 2020
November 2019
May 2019
March 2019
January 2019
November 2018
May 2018
March 2018
January 2018
November 2017
May 2017
March 2017
January 2017
November 2016
May 2016
March 2016
January 2016
November 2015
May 2015
March 2015
January 2015
November 2014
May 2014
March 2014
January 2014
November 2013
May 2013
March 2013
January 2013
November 2012
May 2012
March 2012
January 2012
November 2011
August 2011
May 2011
March 2011
February 2011
November 2010
May 2010
March 2010
February 2010
November 2009
May 2009
April 2009
February 2009
November 2008
May 2008
April 2008
February 2008
November 2007
May 2007
March 2007
February 2007
November 2006
May 2006
March 2006
January 2006
November 2005
May 2005 (.pdf)
March 2005 (.pdf)
January 2005 (.pdf)
November 2004 (.pdf)
May 2004 (.pdf)
March 2004 (.pdf)
January 2004 (.pdf)
November 2003 (.pdf)
May 2003 (.pdf)
March 2003 (.pdf)
January 2003 (.pdf)
November 2002 (.pdf)
January 2002 (.pdf)
November 2001 (.pdf)