Vol. 56, No. 4 May 2019 .pdf version
Mike Waters: Taking the wheel as first president A.J.
Malcolm Moran: Advocacy is our greatest value
Joe Mitch: Thankful and honored
Williamson, Barnes claim top honors
Join the USBWA or renew your membership
Enter the Best Writing Contest
Apply for the USBWA scholarship

Williamson, Barnes claim USBWA's top honors

Bookmark and Share  

Duke forward Zion Williamson swept USBWA honors by winning the Oscar Robertson Trophy as the national player of the year and the Wayman Tisdale Award as the nation's top freshman.

Tennessee's Rick Barnes was named the winner of the Henry Iba Award as the nation's top coach.

More from the USBWA:
Join the USBWA or renew your membership today!
Enter the Best Writing Contest
Apply for the USBWA scholarship

Williamson, a 6-foot-7 forward from Spartanburg, S.C., was the nation's only player to average at least 20 points and shoot at least 65 percent from the field. He was selected to the first team of the USBWA's All-America team along with the award's three other finalists teammate R.J. Barrett of Duke, Ja Morant of Murray State and Grant Williams of Tennessee and Cassius Winston of Michigan State.

The trophy's namesake, "The Big O," was on hand at U.S. Bank Stadium, site of the Final Four, to announce Williamson as the winner. A formal presentation of the three awards took place April 15 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Iowa's Megan Gustafson received the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award as the women's national player of the year. Kim Mulkey of Baylor was named the women's coach of the year.

Williamson was the eighth Blue Devil to win the trophy (and the first since J.J. Redick shared the trophy with Gonzaga's Adam Morrison in 2006) and the third freshman (along with Kentucky's Anthony Davis and Texas' Kevin Durant) to claim the honor.

The USBWA first-team All-American electrified fans with his rim-rattling dunks and dramatic blocks on defense. He was the ACC player of the year and the first freshman to be named the ACC tournament's Most Valuable Player. While tying for the ACC lead in scoring (22.6 points per game), Williamson was also second in steals (2.1), third in rebounding (8.9 rpg) and fifth in blocks (1.8 bpg). Williamson led Duke to a 21st ACC championship and a 22nd Elite Eight appearance. He averaged 26.4 points and 9.1 rebounds in seven postseason games.

Williamson won the Wayman Tisdale Award over fellow finalists Barrett, Coby White of North Carolina and Antoine Davis of Detroit Mercy.

Barnes led the Volunteers to arguably the greatest season in school history, which included a school-record 19-game win streak. His guidance helped keep Tennessee ranked among the top 10 in both national polls throughout the season, including a No. 1 ranking for four weeks during win streak.

February 2021
December 2020
June 2020
January 2020
November 2019
May 2019
March 2019
January 2019
November 2018
May 2018
March 2018
January 2018
November 2017
May 2017
March 2017
January 2017
November 2016
May 2016
March 2016
January 2016
November 2015
May 2015
March 2015
January 2015
November 2014
May 2014
March 2014
January 2014
November 2013
May 2013
March 2013
January 2013
November 2012
May 2012
March 2012
January 2012
November 2011
August 2011
May 2011
March 2011
February 2011
November 2010
May 2010
March 2010
February 2010
November 2009
May 2009
April 2009
February 2009
November 2008
May 2008
April 2008
February 2008
November 2007
May 2007
March 2007
February 2007
November 2006
May 2006
March 2006
January 2006
November 2005
May 2005 (.pdf)
March 2005 (.pdf)
January 2005 (.pdf)
November 2004 (.pdf)
May 2004 (.pdf)
March 2004 (.pdf)
January 2004 (.pdf)
November 2003 (.pdf)
May 2003 (.pdf)
March 2003 (.pdf)
January 2003 (.pdf)
November 2002 (.pdf)
January 2002 (.pdf)
November 2001 (.pdf)