Vol. 51, No. 4 May 2014 .pdf version
Dana O'Neil: Challenging year can still be fun
Joe Mitch: Goal is to surpass 1,000 memberships
Mel Greenberg: Haverbeck Award joins women's lineup
McDermott, Parker, Marshall win USBWA honors
Lodge Notes: Frederickson, Wessler honored by APSE
Best Writing Contest deadline approaches
Photos: USBWA Final Four events

McDermott, Parker, Marshall win USBWA honors

Bookmark and Share  

The winners of the Oscar Robertson, Wayman Tisdale and Henry Iba trophies come from America's heartland.

More from the USBWA:
Enter the Best Writing Contest
Renew your USBWA membership
2014-15 USBWA officers

Creighton forward Doug McDermott is the winner of the USBWA's Oscar Robertson Trophy, given to the nation's top player, and Duke's Jabari Parker, a Chicago native, won the Wayman Tisdale Award, given to the nation's top freshman. Gregg Marshall of Wichita State is the winner of the Henry Iba Award, given to the nation's top coach. McDermott, Parker and Marshall were presented with their awards on Monday, April 14, at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards Gala in Oklahoma City.

McDermott, a 6-foot-8 senior from Ames, Iowa, becomes just the 19th player in the 58-year history of the team to earn three-time USBWA All-America honors. He finished the regular season as the national leader the nation in scoring (26.9). He scored 20 points or more in 26 of 30 games, including a career-high 45 points on a Senior Night victory over Providence. In the process, he moved up to seventh in NCAA history with 3,011 career points.

Parker, a 6-8 forward, averaged 19.2 points and 9.0 rebounds for Duke. His 16 20-point games are tied for second-most in ACC history, three shy of the record.

Parker scored in double figures in 17 straight games and in 32 of 34, breaking the Duke freshman record held by Gene Banks and Luol Deng.

Led by Marshall, Wichita State became the first team to end a regular season unbeaten since Saint Joseph's in 2004 and the first to enter the NCAA Tournament without a loss, at 34-0, since UNLV in 1991. The Shockers, who reached the Final Four in 2013, finished the season ranked No. 2 in the AP poll.

The USBWA's first-team All-Americans include McDermott, Parker, Arizona's Nick Johnson, Connecticut's Shabazz Napier and Louisville's Russ Smith.

Johnson, a 6-3 junior guard from Gilbert, Ariz., is the Pacific-12 Conference Player of the Year. He led the Wildcats in scoring (16.1) and is second in assists (2.8) and steals (1.2). He became the 48th member of Arizona's 1,000-point club in mid-January.

Napier, a 6-1 senior from Roxbury, Mass., led the Huskies in scoring (17.8), rebounding (6.0), and assists (5.2), on his way to becoming the only player in school history to lead the team in all three categories.

Smith, is a 6-0 senior from Brooklyn, N.Y. He was the American Athletic Conference's fourth-leading scorer (17.5), while ranking third in assists (4.8).

The second team featured four seniors, including forward Cleanthony Early of Wichita State; Iowa State forward Melvin Ejim, the Big 12 Conference Player of the Year; forward C.J. Fair of Syracuse; and Cincinnati guard Sean Kilpatrick. Kansas guard Andrew Wiggins, the Big 12 Freshman of the Year, rounded out the second team.

USBWA All-America Teams
First Team
Nick Johnson, Arizona, 6-3, 200, Jr., Gilbert, Ariz.
Doug McDermott, Creighton, 6-8, 225, Sr., Ames, Iowa
Shabazz Napier, Connecticut, 6-1, 180, Sr., Roxbury, Mass.
Jabari Parker, Duke, 6-8, 235, Fr., Chicago
Russ Smith, Louisville, 6-0, 165, Sr., Brooklyn

Second Team
Cleanthony Early, Wichita St., 6-8, 219, Sr., Middletown, N.Y.
Melvin Ejim, Iowa State, 6-6, 220, Sr., Toronto
C.J. Fair, Syracuse, 6-8, 215, Sr., Baltimore
Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati, 6-4 , 210, Sr., Yonkers, N.Y.
Andrew Wiggins, Kansas, 6-8, 200, Fr., Vaughan, Ont.

May 2018
March 2018
January 2018
November 2017
May 2017
March 2017
January 2017
November 2016
May 2016
March 2016
January 2016
November 2015
May 2015
March 2015
January 2015
November 2014
May 2014
March 2014
January 2014
November 2013
May 2013
March 2013
January 2013
November 2012
May 2012
March 2012
January 2012
November 2011
August 2011
May 2011
March 2011
February 2011
November 2010
May 2010
March 2010
February 2010
November 2009
May 2009
April 2009
February 2009
November 2008
May 2008
April 2008
February 2008
November 2007
May 2007
March 2007
February 2007
November 2006
May 2006
March 2006
January 2006
November 2005
May 2005 (.pdf)
March 2005 (.pdf)
January 2005 (.pdf)
November 2004 (.pdf)
May 2004 (.pdf)
March 2004 (.pdf)
January 2004 (.pdf)
November 2003 (.pdf)
May 2003 (.pdf)
March 2003 (.pdf)
January 2003 (.pdf)
November 2002 (.pdf)
January 2002 (.pdf)
November 2001 (.pdf)