Vol. 50, No. 4 • May 2013 • .pdf version
Kirk Wessler: Latest challenge: Gain back seats
Joe Mitch: Breakfast among most memorable
Mel Greenberg: Women's Final Four faces seating issues
Lodge Notes; Open Letter to Mark Emmert
Best Writing Contest deadline nears
Burke, Smart, Larrañaga highlight USBWA awards

Burke, Smart, Larrañaga highlight USBWA awards

Bookmark and Share  

A pair of point guards and a former swingman head the USBWA's winners of this season's Oscar Robertson, Wayman Tisdale and Henry Iba trophies.

Michigan point guard Trey Burke won the Oscar Robertson Trophy, given to the nation's top player, and Oklahoma State point guard Marcus Smart won the Wayman Tisdale Award, given to the nation's top freshman. Miami coach Miami's Jim Larrañaga, a former high-scoring guard/forward at Providence, won the Henry Iba Award given to the nation's top coach.

Burke, Smart and Larrañaga will be formally presented with their awards on Monday, April 15, at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards Gala in Oklahoma City.

Best Writing Contest entry information (Deadline June 12)
Oscar Robertson Trophy presentation video from Big Ten Network
• Courage Award Video: Boston College's Dick Kelley | Katha Quinn from 1988
USBWA Hall of Famers
Invite a colleague to join the USBWA
Follow the USBWA on Twitter @USBWA

Burke, a 6-foot sophomore, led Michigan to as high as the nation's No. 1 ranking during an outstanding season in which he also was named the Big Ten Conference player of the year. He is Michigan's first national Oscar Robertson Trophy winner and the first national player of the year of any kind since Cazzie Russell won the award in 1966.

Burke made the nation take notice when he posted a career-high 11 assists, with no turnovers, while also scoring 18 points in a victory over No. 18 N.C. State in the Big Ten-ACC Challenge. He topped himself early in the Big Ten season with 19 points and 12 assists against Iowa. He also had notable performances against Illinois (26 points, eight assists) and Michigan State (21 points, eight assists and a career-high five steals).

Burke, who was averaging 19.2 points and 6.7 assists at the end of the regular season, broke Michigan's single season assists record in an NCAA Tournament game against VCU. Darius Morris set the record with 235 assists during the 2010-11 season.

Smart, a 6-4 point guard, became the third freshman to be named the Big 12 Conference player of the year, following in the footsteps of Texas' Kevin Durant in 2007 and Kansas State's Michael Beasley in 2008. Smart also was a unanimous selection to the all-Big 12 defensive team.

Smart, an outstanding leader, was the Big 12's only player to rank among its top 15 in scoring (15.1 per game), rebounding (5.7), assists (4.3) and steals (3.0). Smart's 94 steals set the league's single-season record.

Larrañaga, who took George Mason to the Final Four in 2006, was named USBWA's national coach of the year in only his second season at Miami for leading the Hurricanes in school history and included their first Atlantic Coast Conference regular-season title in 12 years and the first ACC tournament championship in history.

Oscar Robertson presents his namesake award to Michigan's Trey Burke at the Final Four in Atlanta.

Burke led the USBWA's All-America first team, which included Indiana guard Victor Oladipo, Georgetown forward Otto Porter Jr., Creighton forward Doug McDermott and Gonzaga center Kelly Olynyk.

Smart led the All-America second team, which included big men Mason Plumlee of Duke and Cody Zeller of Indiana and two Kansas players, 7-foot center Jeff Withey and freshman Ben McLemore.

USBWA All-America Teams

First Team
• Trey Burke, Michigan, G, 6-0, 190, So., Columbus, Ohio: First USBWA All-American since 1994 (Jalen Rose).
• Doug McDermott, Creighton, F, 6-8, 225, Jr., Ames, Iowa; Only repeat member on the team.
• Victor Oladipo, Indiana, G, 6-5, 214, Jr., Upper Marlboro, Md.: First Indiana All-American since 2008 (D.J. White, 2nd team).
• Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga, F, 7-0, 238, Jr., Kamloops, B.C.: First Gonzaga All-American since Adam Morrison in 2006.
• Otto Porter, Georgetown, F, 6-8, 205, So., Sikeston, Md.: First first-team All-American since Allen Iverson in 1996.

Second Team
• Ben McLemore, Kansas, G, 6-5, 195, Fr., St. Louis, Mo.
• Mason Plumlee, Duke, F, 6-10, 235, Sr., Warsaw, Ind.
• Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State, G, 6-4, 225, Fr., Flower Mound, Texas.
• Jeff Withey, Kansas, C, 7-0, 235, Sr., San Diego, Calif.
• Cody Zeller, Indiana, F, 7-0, 240, So., Washington, Ind.

May 2018
March 2018
January 2018
November 2017
May 2017
March 2017
January 2017
November 2016
May 2016
March 2016
January 2016
November 2015
May 2015
March 2015
January 2015
November 2014
May 2014
March 2014
January 2014
November 2013
May 2013
March 2013
January 2013
November 2012
May 2012
March 2012
January 2012
November 2011
August 2011
May 2011
March 2011
February 2011
November 2010
May 2010
March 2010
February 2010
November 2009
May 2009
April 2009
February 2009
November 2008
May 2008
April 2008
February 2008
November 2007
May 2007
March 2007
February 2007
November 2006
May 2006
March 2006
January 2006
November 2005
May 2005 (.pdf)
March 2005 (.pdf)
January 2005 (.pdf)
November 2004 (.pdf)
May 2004 (.pdf)
March 2004 (.pdf)
January 2004 (.pdf)
November 2003 (.pdf)
May 2003 (.pdf)
March 2003 (.pdf)
January 2003 (.pdf)
November 2002 (.pdf)
January 2002 (.pdf)
November 2001 (.pdf)