Vol. 50, No. 3 March 2013 .pdf version
John Akers: These vice-presidents put in OT
Joe Mitch: Relationship continues with Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame welcomes Bilovsky, Lopresti, Rawlings
Most Courageous: BC's Kelley, Oakland's Francis
Twenty-five years ago, Katha Quinn set the standard
ESPN.com's Medcalf wins Rising Star award
Robertson, Tisdale lists feature Bennett, McLemore

Joe Mitch

USBWA continuing relationship with Naismith Hall of Fame

USBWA Executive Director

Bookmark and Share  

The USBWA is pleased to welcome back the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame as sponsor of the association's Best Writing Contest.

After a brief hiatus as sponsor of the writing contest, the Hall of Fame has committed to a three-year sponsorship agreement with the USBWA.

"We are proud to renew our partnership with the USBWA," said John Doleva, president and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame.

For ticket information on the Devon Energy College Basketball awards, visit collegebasketballawards.com
2012 Best Writing Contest winners
Invite a colleague to join the USBWA
USBWA scholarship information, application
Follow the USBWA on Twitter @USBWA

The Hall of Fame's sponsorship provides funding for cash awards and plaques that are given annually to contest winners in each of five categories (columns, spot news, investigative reporting, moderate-length feature and magazine-length stories).

The Hall of Fame also serves along with ESPN as a sponsor of the USBWA awards breakfast held on the morning of the national championship game at the NCAA men's Final Four.

The USBWA is also working with Doleva to resurrect an exhibit at the Hall of Fame museum in Springfield, Mass., that listed the names of all past presidents of the association, dating back to the USBWA's founding in 1956.

Doleva said the Hall of Fame museum is experiencing record growth, with attendance increasing by over 14 percent last year. Doleva attributes the increase to a "60 Days of Summer" promotion that featured something happening every day at the museum, such as clinics and book signings.

Exhibits such as biographies and memorabilia of the newest members of the Hall of Fame as well as those already in the Hall and the numerous interactive displays at the museum also help attract new and returning visitors. Every year, the Hall of Fame announces the newest class of inductees at the Final Four during a news conference following the USBWA's Monday morning breakfast.

The announcement always brings joy to those selected but disappointment and sometimes controversy to those who aren't.

"Joe O'Brien (former executive director of the NABC) used to say the cream always rises to the top and eventually those deserving will get into Hall," Doleva said.

Doleva said the Basketball Hall of Fame is proud to recognize the achievements of people at all levels in basketball players, coaches, college, professional, women, men and international constituents.

"This is what sets the Basketball Hall of Fame apart from other Halls of Fame," Doleva said. "We address all aspects of the game. It's total representation. We recognize the entire game."

To be inducted into the Hall, an individual must receive 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee. Five special committees deal with specialized categories such as international basketball, early African-American pioneers, players and coaches from the old ABA and contributors.

In addition to those being inducted and introduced at this year's Final Four, the Hall also will announce the recipients of the Curt Gowdy Award for print and electronic excellence. Past award winners on the print side who are also in the USBWA Hall of Fame include Dave Dorr, Bob Ryan, Larry Donald, Jim O'Connell, Malcolm Moran, Alex Wolff and Dick Weiss.


The USBWA's Oscar Robertson Player of the Year Trophy, the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award and the Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award will be presented on Monday, April 15, at a College Basketball Gala in Oklahoma City.

The USBWA is partnering with a non-profit organization in Oklahoma (Access Sports) on the gala, with proceeds going to the Wayman Tisdale Foundation for disadvantaged youth and the National Kidney Foundation on behalf of Oscar Robertson.

The gala is a departure from previous years, when the USBWA split its awards presentations between two venues. The Robertson Trophy and Iba Award were presented at a Final Four breakfast, and the Tisdale Freshman Award was handed out 10 days later at a banquet in Oklahoma City in honor of Tisdale, an Oklahoma native and former Sooners and NBA star who passed away from cancer.

This year, the USBWA decided to bring presentation of all three of its awards under one roof by participating in the gala in Oklahoma City. In addition to the presentation of the USBWA player and coach of the year awards, a Humanitarian Award will be presented to Michigan State coach Tom Izzo. Past winners include ESPN's Dick Vitale and Duke coach Mike Krzyzewski.

May 2018
March 2018
January 2018
November 2017
May 2017
March 2017
January 2017
November 2016
May 2016
March 2016
January 2016
November 2015
May 2015
March 2015
January 2015
November 2014
May 2014
March 2014
January 2014
November 2013
May 2013
March 2013
January 2013
November 2012
May 2012
March 2012
January 2012
November 2011
August 2011
May 2011
March 2011
February 2011
November 2010
May 2010
March 2010
February 2010
November 2009
May 2009
April 2009
February 2009
November 2008
May 2008
April 2008
February 2008
November 2007
May 2007
March 2007
February 2007
November 2006
May 2006
March 2006
January 2006
November 2005
May 2005 (.pdf)
March 2005 (.pdf)
January 2005 (.pdf)
November 2004 (.pdf)
May 2004 (.pdf)
March 2004 (.pdf)
January 2004 (.pdf)
November 2003 (.pdf)
May 2003 (.pdf)
March 2003 (.pdf)
January 2003 (.pdf)
November 2002 (.pdf)
January 2002 (.pdf)
November 2001 (.pdf)